We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Authentic Caribbean food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Rose - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Planet Rose
Nicolaas Beetstraat 47, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Caribbean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Entering Planet Rose's you feast your eye's on the cute, colorful tables and interior. Rose's big smile as she comes to the table welcomes you and the delicious smell of the food cooking in the open kitchen promises delight. No disappointment in the food department there, as the tasty
Appetizers bring the original spices of Jamaica to the table. The main course of roasted, curried goat was fantastic, while the Jerk Chicken was also true to the original recipe from the Islands. Great place, relaxed atmosphere. Definitely reserve a table as the 30 -some places are quickly filled. It was clear that many of the guests were 'come back' patrons, having discovered this Caribbean Oase in the Kinker Area of Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woman rule the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Home made food and a very nice lady managing the restaurant. Nice regae music and I never thought something called yerk balls would taste so good. Go there and enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Homemade and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Such a great Jamaican place (in fact, I think it's the only Jamaican place), just off the touristy path in Amsterdam. Rose is fantastic and the food she prepares is authentic and so yummy. Very reasonable prices - total of 24 euro for drinks, brown stew chicken, some sort of vegetarian ackee dish that my sister had, a large bowl of rice and peas, salad, and plantains. I love festivals... unfortunately she didn't have any that day (the menu changes daily), but she told us to call ahead next time I was coming and she'd put whatever we wanted to eat on the menu for that day.

Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'm heading straight back to Rose!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Homemade food. Delicious. Ignore those who state it's far from the centre, because if you're from a large city like London(as I am), 15mins on the tram from Central station or 10minutes from somewhere like Leisdesplien is no distance. Considering she's the only jamaican food establishment I know of in Amsterdam, she is reasonably priced. I've tried the oxtail, stewed chicken, curried chicken and jerk dishes - all delicious! and everyone I have taken there love the restaurant and love Rose.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Far away from turistic routes this restaurant serves an amazing jerk chicken!!
Location is rather basic but relaxed atmosphere completes my positive opinion!
50€ for 2 jerk chicken, 2 dessert and drinks!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Rose also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.