We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Rose - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Planet Rose
Nicolaas Beetstraat 47, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Far away from turistic routes this restaurant serves an amazing jerk chicken!!
Location is rather basic but relaxed atmosphere completes my positive opinion!
50€ for 2 jerk chicken, 2 dessert and drinks!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    6
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Homemade jamaican cooking with excellent service and a caribbean vibe! Interiour is simple cafe style, but the food is great and charming miss Rose wil check to see if this is your experience as well!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious but Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just off the Kinkerstraat, far from the center of town, Jamaican flags fly from a small corner restaurant in the west of the city.
Rose is the owner and cook. She's English, born in Jamaica and half a yiddishe mama. We (me plus wife and two boys) immediately got sense of that from the way she welcomed us in and took an interest in our little family. We ordered a little of everything:
Jerk chicken (marinade was to DIE for).
Brown Stew with lamb (Just OK)
Curry Chicken (Excellent)
We also had a start of little pastries filled with cheese that were good too.
Sides of rice and beans that my kids devoured.
Pretty good review so far, so why only 3 stars you might be wondering? Simple: the price.
15 Euros for not particularly big portions, even with the sides, is steep. Good as it was, 65 euros for two adults and two little kids is, frankly, waaaay too much for what is really no more than basic Jamaican fare and, let's be honest, it would have cost half that over in England, where this stuff is much more common.
Still, the jerk chicken marinade was extraordinary. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Different & non-touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This restaurant is quite far removed from the rest of the tourist districts and is a normal Dutch residential area, which was one of the appeals for us.

The staff were friendly and the Jerk chicken was good. The prices were a little more than we had expected and I didn't feel like 16 euros was a fair price for the jerk chicken I got. Not bad food by any stretch just had to pay more than I had expected :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Excellent Caribbean food – and atmosphere as well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We would never have chanced upon this restaurant without a recommendation from a friend: it's a cozy, unassuming place a bit west of center, but definitely worth a visit. The jerk chicken, the punches and whole atmosphere were authentically Caribbean, with super-friendly service. We will definitely be going back – and the food was very tasty as well!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Rose also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.