We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B 1657

B&B 1657
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B 1657 to your Saves list
B&B 1657
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thought everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Besides a little confusion upon arrival, as it is not clearly marked as a B&B, it was a wonderful stay. The team here really had a nice presentation and made everything comfortable during my two nights in Amsterdam! Great morning breakfast, tasteful and modern bathroom and bedroom furnishing, with views of Herengracht canal. Starbucks is around the corner, and easy access to the tram and the rest of Amsterdam for tourism or work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at BB1657. Customer service was excellent, we were contacted via email just after booking to explain check in, on arrival in Amsterdam we contacted the owner with our arrival time and was met at the house. Its not obvious that the house is a B&B but as we were met there it wasn't a problem. The room was ready for us as we arrived so we were able to freshen up and drop off our bags before going out to explore. The owners sister gave us some handy tips and a nice little map too. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with large comfortable bed, free mini bar, free wifi and TV with English channels. The bathroom is across the hall but this wasn't really a problem as it was still private and was very well decorated with luxurious double bath and power shower. Breakfast was served in the breakfast room downstairs and was a full range of continental dishes plus eggs cooked to order. It was all very fresh and very well presented.
Location wise the BB was close enough to main areas to be convenient but far enough to be quiet. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This B&B is a traditional canal house, made into a charming B&B. I was taken with the effort made in modernizing the bathrooms and the simplicity yet comfort of the room furnishings. The breakfast was excellent; fresh orange juice, pastries, eggs, and yoghurt. The stairs are very steep, but Else helped us get our more than ordinary amount of luggage up to the first floor bedroom (which is on the third landing).

I particularly enjoyed the view from our room. You can sit quietly with the complimentary drinks supplied in the small refrigerator and watch a fascinating tableaux of life in Amsterdam. Museums are nearby as are some very good restaurants. Sal, the owner, was lovely. I am an older traveler, so the stairs were a bit of a challenge, but I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B! One suggestion: do not take a vehicle into Amsterdam. Take a taxi to the B&B from the airport (50 euros) and then use local transport, walking, or taxis to move around the city! Lenore (Berkeley, CA)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

absolutely a great B&B to stay!!
very nice, very clean and modern rooms, view on the canal and great breakfast with fresh orange juice.
With the courtesy of the staff we felt home!
Again, this is a GREAT B/B to stay!
we will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked my stay with the owner operator Sal over the Internet via email. He told me that we had a room for April 28 - May 1, 2013 and he would update his calendar with our booking. He quoted us 405$ for the 3 nights which I thought was reasonable. My husband and I were excited because we will be traveling to Europe for the first time next month and Amsterdam is our first stop. However, one day later and two additional confirmation emails later Sal informed me via email that he had cancelled our reservation because it was the Queens Coronation which is a very busy time for him and he would be increasing the rate to 275$ a night. Additionally, he did not even give us the option to book with him at an increased price. While I can appreciate that room prices increase during festivals and holidays the manner which we were treated was unprofessional. We fortunately did not put out any money but due to the Queens Coronation finding a place has been stressful and challenging to do because it seems almost everything is booked up. Based on this experience I would not recommend this B & B which is unfortunate because it originally looked like a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our 4 weeks in Europe. We arrived on an early flight from Australia and were able to drop our bags off until we could check in- this was really appreciated as it allowed us to get our bearings and have a bit of a look around the area we were staying. Great location on the canal, we walked from the train station and it took about 20 minutes at an easy pace.
We were looked after by Els who made our stay most enjoyable. She made us the most delicious breakfast each morning and even made arrangements for us on the morning we were leaving early before breakfast was served. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was able to give us tips about dining nearby and of things to see and do during our stay.
Our room on the first floor was delightful overlooking the canal and the bathroom across the hallway was large and modern. Shampoo and body gel was supplied as was a small fridge with several different types of drinks compliments of the house.
We stayed from Sunday night to Thursday morning and did not have any problems with noise from outside.
We were able to walk to most attractions around the city, but hired bikes from nearby and spent a day riding through the wetlands and then around the city area, great fun. We also visited Haarlem and Zaanse Schans- catching trains to both places.
Amsterdam was a great place to start our journey, and this was enhanced by our fabulous stay at B&B 1657

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#158 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#51 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#135 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B 1657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B 1657

Address: Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B 1657 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your B&B 1657 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B 1657, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.