We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B 1657

B&B 1657
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B 1657 to your Saves list
B&B 1657
Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This B&B is a traditional canal house, made into a charming B&B. I was taken with the effort made in modernizing the bathrooms and the simplicity yet comfort of the room furnishings. The breakfast was excellent; fresh orange juice, pastries, eggs, and yoghurt. The stairs are very steep, but Else helped us get our more than ordinary amount of luggage up to the first floor bedroom (which is on the third landing).

I particularly enjoyed the view from our room. You can sit quietly with the complimentary drinks supplied in the small refrigerator and watch a fascinating tableaux of life in Amsterdam. Museums are nearby as are some very good restaurants. Sal, the owner, was lovely. I am an older traveler, so the stairs were a bit of a challenge, but I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B! One suggestion: do not take a vehicle into Amsterdam. Take a taxi to the B&B from the airport (50 euros) and then use local transport, walking, or taxis to move around the city! Lenore (Berkeley, CA)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

absolutely a great B&B to stay!!
very nice, very clean and modern rooms, view on the canal and great breakfast with fresh orange juice.
With the courtesy of the staff we felt home!
Again, this is a GREAT B/B to stay!
we will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked my stay with the owner operator Sal over the Internet via email. He told me that we had a room for April 28 - May 1, 2013 and he would update his calendar with our booking. He quoted us 405$ for the 3 nights which I thought was reasonable. My husband and I were excited because we will be traveling to Europe for the first time next month and Amsterdam is our first stop. However, one day later and two additional confirmation emails later Sal informed me via email that he had cancelled our reservation because it was the Queens Coronation which is a very busy time for him and he would be increasing the rate to 275$ a night. Additionally, he did not even give us the option to book with him at an increased price. While I can appreciate that room prices increase during festivals and holidays the manner which we were treated was unprofessional. We fortunately did not put out any money but due to the Queens Coronation finding a place has been stressful and challenging to do because it seems almost everything is booked up. Based on this experience I would not recommend this B & B which is unfortunate because it originally looked like a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our 4 weeks in Europe. We arrived on an early flight from Australia and were able to drop our bags off until we could check in- this was really appreciated as it allowed us to get our bearings and have a bit of a look around the area we were staying. Great location on the canal, we walked from the train station and it took about 20 minutes at an easy pace.
We were looked after by Els who made our stay most enjoyable. She made us the most delicious breakfast each morning and even made arrangements for us on the morning we were leaving early before breakfast was served. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was able to give us tips about dining nearby and of things to see and do during our stay.
Our room on the first floor was delightful overlooking the canal and the bathroom across the hallway was large and modern. Shampoo and body gel was supplied as was a small fridge with several different types of drinks compliments of the house.
We stayed from Sunday night to Thursday morning and did not have any problems with noise from outside.
We were able to walk to most attractions around the city, but hired bikes from nearby and spent a day riding through the wetlands and then around the city area, great fun. We also visited Haarlem and Zaanse Schans- catching trains to both places.
Amsterdam was a great place to start our journey, and this was enhanced by our fabulous stay at B&B 1657

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed for 4 nights. Ok room with private bathroom across the landing (no shower gel or shampoo provided). Towels not changed and make your own bed (comfy and big). Location is a strong point but Friday and Saturday nights were unbearably noisy as taxis wait outside for nightclub revellers which made sleep impossible until well after 4am! It might be quiter in a room on the upper floors (we were in room 1. Nice friendly welcome from Else but this B&B was too expensive for what is on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B&B 1657 is a special place....located on a canal with large windows overlooking the water and quiet street below. With only three rooms and over-the-top hospitality by Sal, the owner, property manager and chef, we had a very comfortable stay. Each room has a large private bath, with each one having recently been renovated with high quality features. Freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked croissants and baguettes accompanying each breakfast were a great start to the day. The building is located in a very safe area of the city on one of the nicest canals. We will certainly highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family members!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B 1657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B 1657

Address: Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B 1657 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B 1657, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.