We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes-most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B 1657

B&B 1657
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B 1657 to your Saves list
B&B 1657
Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes-most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our 4 weeks in Europe. We arrived on an early flight from Australia and were able to drop our bags off until we could check in- this was really appreciated as it allowed us to get our bearings and have a bit of a look around the area we were staying. Great location on the canal, we walked from the train station and it took about 20 minutes at an easy pace.
We were looked after by Els who made our stay most enjoyable. She made us the most delicious breakfast each morning and even made arrangements for us on the morning we were leaving early before breakfast was served. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was able to give us tips about dining nearby and of things to see and do during our stay.
Our room on the first floor was delightful overlooking the canal and the bathroom across the hallway was large and modern. Shampoo and body gel was supplied as was a small fridge with several different types of drinks compliments of the house.
We stayed from Sunday night to Thursday morning and did not have any problems with noise from outside.
We were able to walk to most attractions around the city, but hired bikes from nearby and spent a day riding through the wetlands and then around the city area, great fun. We also visited Haarlem and Zaanse Schans- catching trains to both places.
Amsterdam was a great place to start our journey, and this was enhanced by our fabulous stay at B&B 1657

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed for 4 nights. Ok room with private bathroom across the landing (no shower gel or shampoo provided). Towels not changed and make your own bed (comfy and big). Location is a strong point but Friday and Saturday nights were unbearably noisy as taxis wait outside for nightclub revellers which made sleep impossible until well after 4am! It might be quiter in a room on the upper floors (we were in room 1. Nice friendly welcome from Else but this B&B was too expensive for what is on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B&B 1657 is a special place....located on a canal with large windows overlooking the water and quiet street below. With only three rooms and over-the-top hospitality by Sal, the owner, property manager and chef, we had a very comfortable stay. Each room has a large private bath, with each one having recently been renovated with high quality features. Freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked croissants and baguettes accompanying each breakfast were a great start to the day. The building is located in a very safe area of the city on one of the nicest canals. We will certainly highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family members!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My 3 friends and I stayed in B&B 1657 for a long weekend and it couldn't have been a better experience. The B&B is only 3 rooms; nicely decorated, clean and in a great location, and breakfast was very tasty. Sal was very friendly and very helpful.Sal, Prosecco on arrival and a free minibar are extra touches that set this apart from other places. Highly recommended and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This was an absolutely beautiful place.The bathroom and the bedroom were comfortable and state of the art.The breakfasts were delicious and the staff was more than accommodating. My boyfriend and I were sick upon arrival here and the proprietor actually made us fresh squeezed orange juice. It was very nice. I would highly recommend staying here and would stay here again in future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lovely location next to Herengracht Canal. Room was spacious, comfortable, light and clean with view over the canal. Nice to sit in the window seat, sipping the complementary wine, watching the boats and cyclists go by. It's a canal house so has lots of steep, narrow steps which might be a problem for some people but that was part of the charm for us! Friendly owners. Nice breakfast. Reastaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. Walking distance to museums etc. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B 1657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B 1657

Address: Herengracht 585, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B 1657 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B 1657, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.