We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for meat lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Beethovenstraat

Gauchos - Beethovenstraat
Beethovenstraat 55, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 679 9133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 2,765 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $67
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean, South American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Gauchos Beethoven Street, in the heart of the financial district. Perfectly located between the RAI and the Hilton.The tram stops in front of the door and the car can be parked anywhere.Gauchos Beethoven Street is open 7 days a week from 17:00 in the afternoon.The Best Steak in Town.
vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for meat lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had been to another Gauchos in the city which didn't appear to be there any more, this was close to the hotel. Busy but excellent service, great choice for the meat eater - you do pay extras for all the sides though. There are some fish choices available. Would definitely revisit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank VancouverSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent steak - slow friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Eleven of us descended on Gaucho's in Beethovenstraat at 18:30 on a Wednesday evening.
A nice friendly greeting and drinks were ordered and served rapidly.
It was 30 minutes before our food orders were taken, bur it didn't really matter as we were enjoying good conversation and alcohol.
one hour later the food arrived and it was excellent. It is only fair to point out that everyone had ordered differently, so maybe an hours wait was reasonable.
I ordered a 400 gramme fillet steak and it was the best steak that I have ever eaten. Any criticism of the food could only be levelled at the French fries, which were McDonald's style (thin and stringy) whereas the chunky fries that we ordered would be considered normal size in most restaurants.
Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal and also all of the excellent red wines that were sampled extensively. We didn't have desserts as time was getting on and some of the guys were starting to feel the effects of jet lag.
I will definitely eat at Gaucho's again which is conveniently (for me) situated on the No. 5 tram route.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice steak, bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. To see your steak being cut, cooked and then brought to you was nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gauchos Grill Amsterdam - one of the best alternatives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was very hard to find a table for the dinner. There was a long que. However, they manage quite well and friendly the traffic of reservation. Food and wine were delicious. Atmosphere in the restaurant is high class. Kitchen was very clean and tidy. Service quality is very high.
I recommend to have at least one dinner at this restaurant when you are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gurkan_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another great dig!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My fiance really wanted me to try this out having been there for few times himself. I'm glad I did. The wine selection was great, the steaks were sumptuous! We had a window seat, had a view of the Leidsplein where there were street performers, a great entertainment while we were waiting for our orders.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BucketingBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Beethovenstraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Beethovenstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing