We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse hostel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Centraal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Centraal to your Saves list
Hostel Centraal
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worse hostel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The very first thing to notice is the rude staff, I can't even say staff since there was only one guy not sympathetic at all who never was at the reception. We waited so long to do the check out and we almost lost the train.
But the worse was the bathroom, so dirty and smelly, there was a flood each shower.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nnnbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Super creepy place. I'd never feel so uncomfortable with the room as in the hostel. Room has got 2 x 3 meters square and 4 beds in it. I wouldn't mention about the fact that there was even no place to put your luggage on the floor and FORGET about space where you can put your phone, room card etc. On my upper bed I didnt have ledder so I ask how Im supposed to get in there and got answer: "I don'tt know". The stairs are also a disaster. Toilet with no sink, so if you want to wash your hands you need to do this in shower. Terrible! And the fact that I wanted to stay just for one night- and I got added extra 5 euro for I DON"T KNOW WHAT!
It's better to sleep in the luggage store in central sttaion than here!

Room Tip: I wouldnt recomend this place to anybody! And the terrible jasmin smell in reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGDANASKRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It's not very close to the dam square or to the leidseplein. The signs to find it are not very visible. Beds and rooms are ok (6 beds per room, with a private toilet/shower). Lots of floors so baggage must be only backpacks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tca409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

To explain death trap, a mixture of drugs and alcohol combined with the small, uneven, circular stairwell and living on the top (4th) floor is not a good combination. Rooms are dirty, bathrooms looked like that hasn't been cleaned in a few turn over of guests and needed serious renovation. We literally stayed out of the room as much as possible.. Luckily Amsterdam is absolutely beautiful so it was easy to. Completely over priced for what it is unfortunately we booked late so had no choice but I wouldn't recommend anyone ever paying to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Before we even arrived we had problems. We were emailed to say unless they could pre authorise payment we would lose the room. They had already took our deposit so seemed strange they'd wait so long to authorise it.
The stairs are a death trap. We were the top floor and fear of broken limbs was constant our stay.
A wet room for a bathroom is awful as other reviews have mentioned shower is above the toilet so your towels are then used for drying the bathroom rather than yourself.

The place is really over priced for what you actually get.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The guys that worked there were very sweet and I wouldn't say a bad word about them. Unfortunately being nice doesn't make a great hostel. It was very cramped, and half the time they weren't on reception so I felt a bit stuck wondering around trying to find someone to check out.
The room I was in was for six and it was very cramped. A wet room isn't ideal for hostels in my opinion as everything gets soaked and the walls are so thin you can hear everyone go to the toilet (very awkward).
I didn't find the location bad at all, you can get a tram but it was a nice enough walk. The Turkish café across the road was lovely too.
Also I went downstairs at 9.50 (breakfast finishes at 10) and he said I was too late and he wasn't making it any more and if I wanted breakfast next time come down earlier. Which I thought was odd...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not such a great location, over by the zoo. Have to take the tram to get anywhere. Was really cheap when I stayed, got what I paid for - beds seemed clean, but everything else could use a good scrub. Had lots of hot water. Rooms very basic, just bunkbeds and safes - which work! Very old hotel. Toast/juice/coffee/ceral for breakfast. We stayed on the top floor, the stairs are like a ladder - and with a pack it was almost deadly sometimes. Free wireless internet, but didnt work on the floor we were on, had to climb down to the lobby.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the lower floors, you won't regret avoiding the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#48 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#68 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
#170 of 207 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centraal

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Centraal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing