We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Death trap hostel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Centraal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Centraal to your Saves list
Hostel Centraal
Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Death trap hostel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

To explain death trap, a mixture of drugs and alcohol combined with the small, uneven, circular stairwell and living on the top (4th) floor is not a good combination. Rooms are dirty, bathrooms looked like that hasn't been cleaned in a few turn over of guests and needed serious renovation. We literally stayed out of the room as much as possible.. Luckily Amsterdam is absolutely beautiful so it was easy to. Completely over priced for what it is unfortunately we booked late so had no choice but I wouldn't recommend anyone ever paying to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    4
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Before we even arrived we had problems. We were emailed to say unless they could pre authorise payment we would lose the room. They had already took our deposit so seemed strange they'd wait so long to authorise it.
The stairs are a death trap. We were the top floor and fear of broken limbs was constant our stay.
A wet room for a bathroom is awful as other reviews have mentioned shower is above the toilet so your towels are then used for drying the bathroom rather than yourself.

The place is really over priced for what you actually get.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The guys that worked there were very sweet and I wouldn't say a bad word about them. Unfortunately being nice doesn't make a great hostel. It was very cramped, and half the time they weren't on reception so I felt a bit stuck wondering around trying to find someone to check out.
The room I was in was for six and it was very cramped. A wet room isn't ideal for hostels in my opinion as everything gets soaked and the walls are so thin you can hear everyone go to the toilet (very awkward).
I didn't find the location bad at all, you can get a tram but it was a nice enough walk. The Turkish café across the road was lovely too.
Also I went downstairs at 9.50 (breakfast finishes at 10) and he said I was too late and he wasn't making it any more and if I wanted breakfast next time come down earlier. Which I thought was odd...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not such a great location, over by the zoo. Have to take the tram to get anywhere. Was really cheap when I stayed, got what I paid for - beds seemed clean, but everything else could use a good scrub. Had lots of hot water. Rooms very basic, just bunkbeds and safes - which work! Very old hotel. Toast/juice/coffee/ceral for breakfast. We stayed on the top floor, the stairs are like a ladder - and with a pack it was almost deadly sometimes. Free wireless internet, but didnt work on the floor we were on, had to climb down to the lobby.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the lower floors, you won't regret avoiding the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hostel was kind enough to say that 5 of us could stay for 2 nights at short notice. they forgot to mention in the email that the price would go up on the week end that we were there because there was a dance event on the we did not know about. so the price went from about 20 euro to 60. they also didn't mention that on the second night we would have to check out of our beds, and move into the kitchen room, which they had put 2 mattresses down for 4 of us to share! and didn't reduce the price at all!! then in the morning, because to was the breakfast room, they work us all up at 8:45am because people would be coming in to get breakfast..... no one came for breakfast!!! on top of this its just in a bad location, not close to the city at all. defiantly not worth it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is easily the worst I have stayed in the so called manager is incapable of doing his job,there is a giant vicious dog just wandering around. the stairs are steeper than everest if your after a challenge this hostel is great probably bring a flag though for proof when you make it to the top, I swear I feed my pet cat better breakfast than they try and force down your throat for a measly one hour between 9-10 and just to recap again the manager is about as useful to anybody as a comb to a bold man

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

i stayed in a room with 4 beds and private bathroom. the room was small but ok. the stairs are hell horrible. they are so narrow and when someone walks it is really noisy, even wakes you up. the breakfast was ok with cereals, toast, cheese, jam and butter, coffee, juice. but the breakfast room is really small and it is really hard to find somewhere to sit. and there is just one toaster which can toast 2 slices of bread in the meantime, and if you want some toasts you have to wait for a long time, because everyone is waiting for the toaster! the owner is a really nice guy. but the hostel is a little bit far from citycenter.

Room Tip: stay away from the stairs, it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centraal

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Centraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.