We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Centraal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Centraal to your Saves list
Hostel Centraal
Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hostel was kind enough to say that 5 of us could stay for 2 nights at short notice. they forgot to mention in the email that the price would go up on the week end that we were there because there was a dance event on the we did not know about. so the price went from about 20 euro to 60. they also didn't mention that on the second night we would have to check out of our beds, and move into the kitchen room, which they had put 2 mattresses down for 4 of us to share! and didn't reduce the price at all!! then in the morning, because to was the breakfast room, they work us all up at 8:45am because people would be coming in to get breakfast..... no one came for breakfast!!! on top of this its just in a bad location, not close to the city at all. defiantly not worth it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    3
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is easily the worst I have stayed in the so called manager is incapable of doing his job,there is a giant vicious dog just wandering around. the stairs are steeper than everest if your after a challenge this hostel is great probably bring a flag though for proof when you make it to the top, I swear I feed my pet cat better breakfast than they try and force down your throat for a measly one hour between 9-10 and just to recap again the manager is about as useful to anybody as a comb to a bold man

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

i stayed in a room with 4 beds and private bathroom. the room was small but ok. the stairs are hell horrible. they are so narrow and when someone walks it is really noisy, even wakes you up. the breakfast was ok with cereals, toast, cheese, jam and butter, coffee, juice. but the breakfast room is really small and it is really hard to find somewhere to sit. and there is just one toaster which can toast 2 slices of bread in the meantime, and if you want some toasts you have to wait for a long time, because everyone is waiting for the toaster! the owner is a really nice guy. but the hostel is a little bit far from citycenter.

Room Tip: stay away from the stairs, it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

First of all, the steps leading up to the room (we had the top floor private room) were very dangerous and so narrow it isn't funny. It's not fun carrying up luggage is all I can say.

The shower and the toilet and sink were all on the same floor and the shower headed over the toilet so when you turned on the shower it would wet the toilet seat and you'd have to wipe it all down with the disgusting towels you were meant to dry yourself with lol

The room was tiny and beds very uncomfy. The roof slanted down so you had to duck to get into the bed.

The wifi didn't work and the breakfast room was always full so didn't bother. It was in a tiny cramped room.

We ends up leaving to stay somewhere else and god was I happy to be out!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a room on the top floor. The staircases are extremely narrow and small. It's fun trying to get up with ur backpack...even more fun trying to come down with it. The room was plain...but we're not there for how the rooms look. Had an en suite..so we had our own shower.It's all one...the sink...the shower and toilet. So when ur done showering you have to wipe down everything and you walk in a pool of water for a bit until it is all drained. So..not good for ur friend who wants to use the washroom after u've had a shower.
However...my biggest issue ( the others i could deal with). Is the incense. I love perfumes..colognes...i'm not scent sensitive at all. But the incense drove me crazy. We would wake up to the smell( and we were on top floor) i'd have to get ready and get out of there quickly so i didnt get a headache.
The people who worked there seemed nice enough. We didnt really need their help with anything.So there was little interaction.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

let me start off with a couple positive things. the older man there was very nice and helpful. they also served breakfast (toast and juice) which was convenient.

now the bad. the younger guy (i think the son), was never on time, and he seemed very unfriendly. he was supposed to be downstairs in the morning at a certain time but he was always late. the wireless only works on the first floor. the rate was wayyy overpriced. there were bug splats on the wall. I'd recommend going to Amsterdam during the weekday. might be cheaper and you can find something much better than this dump.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centraal

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Centraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.