We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B & B Alexander to your Saves list
B & B Alexander
Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a wonderful place and gracious hostess! Janneke was friendly and helpful, and breakfast included her excellent home-made jam. Her home is beautiful, a block away from Amsterdam's excellent public transportation, and five minutes on foot from the Van Gogh museum. The room was very clean and big enough to host a party in, and a kitchenette was also available. My one caution is that 18th century Amsterdam houses have VERY steep, tall stairs, so this would not be suitable for someone who has problems with stairs. The house is beautiful, though, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is situated in the museum district and lies at about 5 minutes walking from Leidesplein. Owner is friendly, helpful and very kind. Ours was a twin bedroom with bathroom on the third was squeaky clean and comfortable. There was also a kitchenette available with everything you need to make your own coffee or tea. Breakfast was excellent too. A great place for relaxed and comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Friendly hostess. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful room.
Good location near van Gogh-, Rijks- & Stedelijk Museum and public transportation.
Direct bus from and to the airport (197)
The private bathroom of our room is not in, but next to the room. So you have to be a little bit dressed if you have to go to the loo.
The other room has real ensuite bathroom and toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this B&B for two nights and it was a nice stay. The location is great for walking to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum and it is an easy tram or bus ride into the more central part of town. The room we stayed in was spacious and had an ensuite bathroom. The bed was not comfortable so the sleep quality was just OK. The room itself could use a little updating. The breakfast was a typical breakfast of pastries, cheese and meat, with some juices and coffee or tea. Overall the stay was fine but not excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! Fabulous and convenient location, luxury comforts including cozy robes, use of a little kitchen area - fridge, microwave, etc., and extensive delicious breakfasts! Very convenient to get to from the airport. Janneke is a wonderful host! She even makes the most delicious raspberry jam that I have ever tasted. We highly recommend it as a great place to stay. One note: if you have any mobility issues, talk to Janneke. We felt at home, relaxed, refreshed and comfy. Also note, Janneke was very willing to answer questions about getting about and was very helpful! A super experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A beautiful house within walking distance of the main museums of Amsterdam. Finding the B&B was very easy and its just on the doorstep of the Museumplein. As mentioned in another review; as you come straight out of the airport terminal, you can jump on the 197 bus to the Museumplein stop. There are screens on the buses that tell you where you are which was very handy. It's about a 20 minute bus ride which cost €5.
Janneke was a lovely host and our room was idyllic. It was large and airy and had everything we needed. The beds were so very comfortable. The TV had some English channels too so once relaxed in the room, there was chance to unwind watching a bit of the winter Olympics before going on a walk around the beautiful city of Amsterdam.
We had our own little wet room and a shared kitchen with utensils which came in very handy. Breakfast was served promptly and was enjoyable.
We were greeted by a couple of very cute cats too :)
On the way back to the airport there are frequent 197 buses, you need to go to the right once you get onto the main road to get to the stop.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay, and we would be delighted to return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked this b&b for four nights for stay with art lover hubby and 3 year old daughter. Agree with other reviews, warm welcome, very comfortable room, kitchen a great advantage when travelling with a toddler. A travel cot was added to our room and Lil miss was very happy. We had top floor front bedroom with en suite shower bathroom. Room spacious enough to accommodate a cot. Room also benefited from round table and chairs for eating, writing or reading. Folding buggy was was kept in entrance just like at home. Excellent location for travel in from airport (197 bus cheap and efficient), lots of trams and buses into town, but walking easy. Prime location for Van Gogh, Stedjelik and Rijksmuseum and park, if only we could have done a concert also. Delightful residential area (reminded us of Kings Road/Sloane Sq area of London!) with a few brasseries and a posh fish restaurant, plus handy supermarket 2 mins away. Yes the stairs in the house are STEEP! But this is Amsterdam remember! This is a lovely late 19th century family home, so relaxing to come back to after a long day touristing! Great wifi and good tv channel choices. Yes 2 ginger cats, but no complaints of any smoke smells at all. All was clean and comfy. Janneke also kindly kept our bags for us as we had a late return home flight. Could not have been easier to enjoy a full last day, come back get our bags snd jump back on that 197 bus round the corner. Would love to return and happily recommend this to you. Why have an anonymous hotel when you can enjoy the tranquillity of Janneke's elegant home?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your B & B Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.