We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place with athmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B & B Alexander to your Saves list
B & B Alexander
Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 319 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Place with athmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were staying in this B&B. We had a lovely large room. Toilette and bathroom were on the landing, but private. It was a very good stay, of course different than in a hotel because you have no service (making up of rooms, cleaning bathroom etc). A bit on the expensive side though. There were only a couple of small things to say: the window did not open in our room. It was stuck. We had to turn off the heating because it became too hot. The owner smokes so people not liking the smell of cigarettes in the whole house should abstain. There are two lovely cats in the house, again, people allergic to cats should abstain. There was a small incidence when we were woken up at 8.30h to go to breakfast. That was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely top floor room (room 2) overlooking a quiet street. The room had an en suite bathroom and access to a shared kitchen. The B&B is a lovely traditional terraced house with elegant interior. Janneke was a welcoming host and provided a great breakfast selection. The location is just behind the concert hall and minutes from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museum. It's also on the route for the airport bus, 40 minutes door to door. And close to trams into the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the top floor it was en suite, looking out the front of the building. It was up 2 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A little more expensive than we would have liked, however Janneke was very lovely and happy to help out. Breakfast in the big dining area each morning was great. Thank you to Kim also who was able to help us with our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Sometimes it's worth to stay in Bed & Breakfast such as the Alexander instead of usual hotels because then you can have the unique opportunity to share your experience together with local people that are always ready to help you organizing your visits as well as ready to chat friendly with you.
This B&B has been the best choice,in a typical building, it´s just next to the museum district and you can reach the city center with a nice walk... the room are very clean, big, with wifi connection and with extreme attention to the details (our "red" room was so romantic). Janneke (the owner) has been the kindest person ever, we found a small bottle of wine in our room as welcome drink.
Janneke has been so kind even when we did the big mistake ever forgetting to give the keys back at the check out and sending them later by mail.
If you are visiting Amsterdam, avoid expensive hotels with bad ratings, this B&B is the right choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights 28 th march and had a lovely time. The accommodation was great big spacious rooms with your own bathroom plus the use of a small kitchen which came in very useful. Janneke the owner makes you very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely filled you up all day.
You can get a bus outside the airport which drops you off round the corner the the b&b. there is a supermarket over the road which I would recommend using as its cheaper that the tourist ones and quite reasonable.
There is a great transport service near by, but we walked everywhere and didn't feel the need to use it. You are able to walk into the centre it will take about 20 mins but there are quite a lot of different areas on route plus plenty of bars near bye.
Would definitely return to Amsterdam again and stay at this b&b as you are still near the centre but away from the lively parts of town which can get quite loud and busy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days for a birthday trip and the bed and breakfast was really lovely. Janneke made us very welcome and breakfast each morning was beautifully presented with homemade jam, a variety of rolls and bread and even chocolate sprinkles. Our room was very clean with a portable heater for extra warmth if we were cold. Janneke was very helpful with suggestions about places to eat and sightseeing. The bed and breakfast is in a great location - quiet but close to museums and the city centre. There are several tramstops nearby which all go into the city centre. My trip to Amsterdam was really enhanced by staying here and I would love to go back in the spring/summer. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent two nights at B and B Alexander and the location is outstanding. It is very close to the major museums while being located in a lovely and quiet neighbourhood.
It is also located in close close proximity to the main No 5 tram line and an excellent supermarket. The bus service to the airport is also nearby.
My room was large and very comfortable. Janneke is a wonderful host and prepares a more than adequate breakfast. Janneke's house is nicely decorated and her artistic works add to the decor. The provision of a kitchenette is a nice touch and one which I made use of.
The internal stairs are steep but manageable with normal luggage.
I suspect that the tarrif represents good value for money for Amsterdam.
Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your B & B Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.