We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Hotel Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam on Saturday 2nd November 2013 and stayed here. I knew i was booking a hostel, so my hopes werent high at all, i thought i would perhaps be staying in a dungeon..... BUT NO! This place was excellent. The matress was comfy, the room was very clean and modern with a flatscreen tv, secure safes to keep valuables in, clean toilet and shower areas as well.

Free breakfast in the mornings was fine. Toast, jam, honey, marmalade, tea, coffee, juices, cereals, eggs and cold meats and cheese. For the cost, you cant really be snobby and demand any more than that.

The staff spoke good english and were very helpful. I normally stay in a 4*+ hotel when i travel and ive stayed in many 5* hotels before, and to be totally honest, this is the very 1st time i have been made feel right at home without any conditions. I felt like i lived there. I have absolutely nothing bad to say at all about this place. You may read other reviews complaining about noise, but this is Amsterdam folks, if you want silence, go to the lake district. It's also a hostel, so dont expect a masked ball and a gala dinner every night. If i ever go back to amsterdam, i will only stay in this place because its very central and close to all the things i wanted to see and do in this crazy city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    142
    56
    18
    6
See reviews for
18
58
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a really nice hostel, very clean,modern,with good breakfast and free internet, really for young people!!!! It’s near the Central railway station. On the reception there is a big bowl with white pills, at first we were afraid to take them because we thought that these are drugs, but the boy on the reception laughed for a long time and said that sweets are not drugs,this is mint! These sweets were delicious and free))) Good times!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Астрахань, Россия
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Veru good location. Not far from central railway station - 5 minutes walking. Red lamp district, museums, nights clubs - all are not far from hotel. Cheap, clean, good service, breakfast. But it is the hostel, remember it.

Room Tip: Take the room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Unfortunately, in 2 of them I didn't get any sleep, since there was a smelly junkie in my room and the place was fully booked. I was told that this is my problem, with no effort to help.

When there finally was another room, I had to change the sheets myself. Neither of the rooms was cleaned during my stay. Bathrooms are cleaned only after breakfast, so if you want to enjoy the (very basic) breakfast you get to witness the results of your floormates' night adventures.

If you're in amsterdam to get high or drunk, it's fine. Otherwise, put in a few extra euros and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed in a private double room with my husband, shared bathroom. Although the rooms are small and you'll get no view, I was surprised that I had my own sink, flat screen tv and safe. There was at least one bathroom and shower on each floor which meant I never had to wait to use it. The room and building were kept very clean and there was staff on hand 24/7. If you need a good, clean place to put your head with a great location this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were excellent, really helpful and very friendly. The hotel was very basic and the rooms were quite small, but they are perfect if you don't plan to spend any time at the hotel just a place to go back to and sleep. The hotel was in the perfect location if you want to explore the heart of Amsterdam (coffee shops, red light district, bars and restaurants) Two of us stayed for 2 nights @ the cost 200 Euro with free breakfast for both days. So for the location and service of the hotel provided we feel the price and overall experience was very good and great value for money. We would defo go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Hotel Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.