We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Hotel Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Астрахань, Россия
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long weekend in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Veru good location. Not far from central railway station - 5 minutes walking. Red lamp district, museums, nights clubs - all are not far from hotel. Cheap, clean, good service, breakfast. But it is the hostel, remember it.

Room Tip: Take the room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
19
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Unfortunately, in 2 of them I didn't get any sleep, since there was a smelly junkie in my room and the place was fully booked. I was told that this is my problem, with no effort to help.

When there finally was another room, I had to change the sheets myself. Neither of the rooms was cleaned during my stay. Bathrooms are cleaned only after breakfast, so if you want to enjoy the (very basic) breakfast you get to witness the results of your floormates' night adventures.

If you're in amsterdam to get high or drunk, it's fine. Otherwise, put in a few extra euros and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a private double room with my husband, shared bathroom. Although the rooms are small and you'll get no view, I was surprised that I had my own sink, flat screen tv and safe. There was at least one bathroom and shower on each floor which meant I never had to wait to use it. The room and building were kept very clean and there was staff on hand 24/7. If you need a good, clean place to put your head with a great location this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were excellent, really helpful and very friendly. The hotel was very basic and the rooms were quite small, but they are perfect if you don't plan to spend any time at the hotel just a place to go back to and sleep. The hotel was in the perfect location if you want to explore the heart of Amsterdam (coffee shops, red light district, bars and restaurants) Two of us stayed for 2 nights @ the cost 200 Euro with free breakfast for both days. So for the location and service of the hotel provided we feel the price and overall experience was very good and great value for money. We would defo go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked our flights not knowing that there was a business convention in Amsterdam. All hotels were VERY expensive and this was the cheapest I could find. I was a bit nervous as it seems aimed at backpackers and we are a middle-aged couple who like a reasonably early night and a quiet room. I had booked a double room with shared bathroom/shower in the annex.

However, it was fine. The toilet and shower were kept clean and we didn't need to queue - that had been one of my worries. The room was quiet, so that was great. There was no noise from the street either.

We stayed on the second floor. There is no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep, so, if you are unsteady/have mobility problems, this would not be suitable for you.

Regarding the prostitutes, they are not in the street, but behind windows.

Staff at the front desk are very nice.

I would consider staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in a 6 bedroom dorm, the dorm was a great size and very clean, it did back on to a section of the red light district which was amusing. The staff were most helpful in planning trips and finding places, WiFi worked some of the time however wasn't too great, the hostel was quite noisy of a evening, doors slamming etc. The shared bathrooms were okay however one door didn't lock on our floor to the shower so was quite daring using that cubicle, all part of the experience... breakfast was excellent and including in the price, unlimited toast, spreads, meats, cereal, eggs, and hot drinks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Hotel Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.