We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good location and a decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Hotel Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a very good location and a decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked our flights not knowing that there was a business convention in Amsterdam. All hotels were VERY expensive and this was the cheapest I could find. I was a bit nervous as it seems aimed at backpackers and we are a middle-aged couple who like a reasonably early night and a quiet room. I had booked a double room with shared bathroom/shower in the annex.

However, it was fine. The toilet and shower were kept clean and we didn't need to queue - that had been one of my worries. The room was quiet, so that was great. There was no noise from the street either.

We stayed on the second floor. There is no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep, so, if you are unsteady/have mobility problems, this would not be suitable for you.

Regarding the prostitutes, they are not in the street, but behind windows.

Staff at the front desk are very nice.

I would consider staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
19
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amritsar, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in a 6 bedroom dorm, the dorm was a great size and very clean, it did back on to a section of the red light district which was amusing. The staff were most helpful in planning trips and finding places, WiFi worked some of the time however wasn't too great, the hostel was quite noisy of a evening, doors slamming etc. The shared bathrooms were okay however one door didn't lock on our floor to the shower so was quite daring using that cubicle, all part of the experience... breakfast was excellent and including in the price, unlimited toast, spreads, meats, cereal, eggs, and hot drinks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall, this hotel was rather average value for money in our experience. Reviews on the two buildings would be chalk and cheese as they are so different. If you happen to be stationed in the extension building, be prepared for small rooms with tiny window, shoebox-size WC and narrow and steep staircases with no lift. Located next to Red Light windows.
The main building is more modern with nicer amenities. The breakfast was good and rich, and the staff friendly but not going out of their way for best service. Overall clean and good central location, not far from main station and big supermarket. For the same money, a houseboat might have been more of an experience!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

it's a good place, very great location, though the map is not very easy to find but the location is perfect, service is good and the room and other facilities is reasonable for the price. The breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Will definitely stay here everytime I go to Amsterdam. Brilliant hotel and great value for money. In the heart of Amsterdam the location couldnt really be better. Was also a nice area of Amsterdam where we felt safe walking around at night. The rooms were clean, we loved our room for 5 - no bunks beds, instead 5 comfy single beds and even a table with 2 chairs and a window with a view onto the street. Each had our own large safe and plenty of room for bags. Breakfast was also adequate and tasty but basic. Free wifi was a major bonus for us which we took advantage of! Would definitely reccommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Second time iv visited dam in a year, this time in a group of 8. Since we were on a budget they arranged for all of us to stay in a room of 6, adding another bed. Yes the room was absolutely cramped as a result, but it was clean, lockers were great and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The toilets and showers were always clean and water was always hot. Breakfast was good, plenty of variety. Really enjoyed the stay, and would definately reccomend this place to anyone staying in amsterdam for a few days on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Hotel Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.