We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escondido en Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas restaurant Dos

Tapas restaurant Dos
Nieuwe Willemsstraat 3, 1015 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 638 4094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,108 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tapas restaurant Dos ligt aan de rand van de Amsterdamse Jordaan, vlakbij het Anna Frankhuis. Dos is erg populair bij de Amsterdamse locals, door z'n heerlijke spaanse tapas gemaakt door de spaanse chef. Voor een snelle hap of uitgebreide maaltijd is de keuken open tot 23.00 uur. Dos biedt een uitgebreide keuze aan heerlijke spaanse wijnen en is uw bezoek zeker waard. Dos is geopend op beide kerstdagen in 2013
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Escondido en Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lost as we walked and walked looking for a certain Tapas restaurant in Amsterdam, we stumbled, with great luck, upon Dos. Que suerte! Each dish was so fresh and flavorful. The hosts and locals were warm and welcoming. This became a very special night as we kicked off our stay in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunny Spain in rainy Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

On a rainy day in Amsterdam we were looking for a cozy place not too far from where we stayed. We found Dos and could not be happier. Just a place to spend several hours, eating, drinks and people watching.
Dos is not a touristy place, rather a place where locals hang out. It is cozy, inviting and real. Our waiter made the experience even better. He was a young man from Spain, very friendly, ready to help with any question we had about the menu, wine, life in Amsterdam or Spain.
The variety of tapas was very good. You could spend several hours tasting many little plates.
The another bonus is the view. It is a corner building, so make sure you sit in the corner on the canal side for the best view. I found observing people in Amsterdam fascinating. To say that they ride bikes everywhere does not cover it. You have to see them in action and this canal side Spanish tapas place is a fun place to do it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A piece of Spain in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Tapas restaurant Dos is like a piece of Spain in Amsterdam.

It offers freshly prepared tapas (small dishes) which you can select from a big menu and accompany with a spanish wine or beer.

There is a small terrace at the front and on the side which makes it even more enjoyable when the sun is out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of Amsterdam's best kept secrets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Dos is a unique place, great food, fantastic people. True example of what Amsterdam stands for; honest and real.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice tapas place on the boarder of the Jordaan area in Amsterdam's city centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having been here now two times in the last month. Both times we had good food and very friendly service. Nice mixture of local people and tourist.
I would recommend this for both couples and also for groups.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas restaurant Dos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tapas restaurant Dos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas restaurant Dos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.