We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Piece of Work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Schip

Museum Het Schip
Spaarndammerplantsoen 140, Amsterdam 1013 XT, The Netherlands
+31 20 4750924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 297 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Stunning Piece of Work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are an architecture buff, you must go to Het Schip. If you love all things dreamy and curvy and a little sexy, you must go see Het Schip. This is the apotheosis of the Amsterdam School of architecture, designed by Michel de Klerk, a genius who died much too young, and a museum since 2001. But don't let the word museum fool you, this is a working museum with apartments, meeting hall, post office. It is part of the fabric of the city of Amsterdam, and once you have seen it, yoru eyes will be opened to the many other examples of this short-lived but influential school of architecture.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Social history and fascinating architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having rather overdosed on high culture, this visit was a welcome change. We were taken on a guided tour (English speaking on Saturday at 11am, Sunday at 12 noon ... and probably at other times, send them an email to check times and to book) of the Post Office, around the outside of "The ship" and of an apartment which was decorated as it would have been when new. Our guide was a Social History student and was very good at bringing the whole experience to life, talking about the emotions and experiences of the people involved. We rounded off the visit with a simple Dutch lunchtime snack in the cafe.

Definitely a recommended attraction ... and we plan to visit other buildings of the Amsterdam school of Architecture on our next visit, like the Grand Hotel Amrath for a cup of coffee

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was an unexpected highlight of a recent trip to Amsterdam. I have a museum card and had already visited the more famous sites, so thought I would give this one a try, despite only a very limited knowledge of architecture. But it was fascinating, and as much about social history as architecture. The guided tour - in English because one of the small group was English (i.e. me!) - was led by a charming and very knowledgeable architecture student who obviously loves the place. It was great.

It looks a bit out of the way on the map but is easy to find; the 22 bus from central station finishes its route just outside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“High point in art, architecture and social housing - yes, all three!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Ship in Amsterdam is a most unusual brick building, built in 1920. It is the highlight of The Amsterdam School, an architectural movement.

It was built as social housing in a bold effort to upgrade homes for working class people. It's very unusual and quite beautiful - you'll be surprised!.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've seen the building from the train many times (having lived in Amsterdam in the past) but had never known what it was, so on a recent visit we did the English tour. It was really fascinating - the guide was a volunteer, being a History student at the university and he was great. The whole concept and design is really impressive - even if you're not a great architecture buff its well worth a visit. The apartment they have set up also gives a fascinating insight into life in Amsterdam in the early twentieth century - so great for (social) historians, too.

I would definately recommend this - and its easy to get to as the bus geos from Central Station to just outside the building (its the final stop and is obvious!), so it couldn't be simpler!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Schip also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Schip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Het Schip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum Het Schip to your Saves list