We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social history and fascinating architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Schip

Museum Het Schip
Spaarndammerplantsoen 140, 1013 XT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 4750924
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$71*
and up
Ranked #67 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Social history and fascinating architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having rather overdosed on high culture, this visit was a welcome change. We were taken on a guided tour (English speaking on Saturday at 11am, Sunday at 12 noon ... and probably at other times, send them an email to check times and to book) of the Post Office, around the outside of "The ship" and of an apartment which was decorated as it would have been when new. Our guide was a Social History student and was very good at bringing the whole experience to life, talking about the emotions and experiences of the people involved. We rounded off the visit with a simple Dutch lunchtime snack in the cafe.

Definitely a recommended attraction ... and we plan to visit other buildings of the Amsterdam school of Architecture on our next visit, like the Grand Hotel Amrath for a cup of coffee

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was an unexpected highlight of a recent trip to Amsterdam. I have a museum card and had already visited the more famous sites, so thought I would give this one a try, despite only a very limited knowledge of architecture. But it was fascinating, and as much about social history as architecture. The guided tour - in English because one of the small group was English (i.e. me!) - was led by a charming and very knowledgeable architecture student who obviously loves the place. It was great.

It looks a bit out of the way on the map but is easy to find; the 22 bus from central station finishes its route just outside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“High point in art, architecture and social housing - yes, all three!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Ship in Amsterdam is a most unusual brick building, built in 1920. It is the highlight of The Amsterdam School, an architectural movement.

It was built as social housing in a bold effort to upgrade homes for working class people. It's very unusual and quite beautiful - you'll be surprised!.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've seen the building from the train many times (having lived in Amsterdam in the past) but had never known what it was, so on a recent visit we did the English tour. It was really fascinating - the guide was a volunteer, being a History student at the university and he was great. The whole concept and design is really impressive - even if you're not a great architecture buff its well worth a visit. The apartment they have set up also gives a fascinating insight into life in Amsterdam in the early twentieth century - so great for (social) historians, too.

I would definately recommend this - and its easy to get to as the bus geos from Central Station to just outside the building (its the final stop and is obvious!), so it couldn't be simpler!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place to view the Amsterdam School of art close up and in detail. Indeed it is those details that make this such a rewarding experience. Normally I shy away from guided tours, but in this case you MUST go on one of the tours to get the full benefit. (There are some tours in English.) Seems a bunch of art students run the place and it is one of them that guides you.

You begin with something as simple a telephone box, but the guide points out not ony the features of the box (the double doors, the stained glass, etc.) but what they represent (e.g.: the telegraph lines in the glass, with the birds on). Then you are off round the building to be shown how the whole thing fits together, then into a restored flat then into a garden which contains street "furniture" such as electrical boxes - each carefully designed to fit the theme.

All in all, a unique event in a unique place. Worth the little hassle of figuring out where to get the (frequent) bus from... Not one for the kids, though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Schip also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Schip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Het Schip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.