We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in relaxed contemporary restaurant ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 622 2716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 2,472 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food in relaxed contemporary restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Staff were really friendly, the food and wine were excellent. Great little restaurant in a trendy locals area if Amsterdam. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    127
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My new favourite resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I came here for the first time with my fiance and we were not sure what to expect. We were blown away with how great this restaurant is! The service was the best I have ever experienced (by a long way), and the steak was cooked to perfection. We then had the famous sticky toffee pie, and a homemade limonchello (which was amazing). The small menu is perfectly balanced and everything is made fresh. I cant wait to come back next time I am in the area! Also, if you could send me your recipe of the Limonchello then that would be fantastic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I booked a reservation while still in Canada and we were very happy we did because it was very busy the night we dined - a Monday evening. The restaurant was easy to find and is located in one of the nicest areas in Amsterdam (Jordaan). The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The warm, homemade bread was delicious and we loved our gravlax appetizer - very fresh and perfect with the horseradish cream. Our entrees, risotto and tuna steak were very good and generously portioned. They were so plentiful, we were unable to have room for the amazing-looking sticky toffee pie. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Unassuming with surprisingly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The restaurant is quite accessible by walking from the city centre. We took around 15min to walk to the restaurant from our hotel along Princegarcht. The restaurant sits right along the main street. There seems to be ample parking space. We were early for the table seating, but the waiting staff were very accomodating and arranged our seating anyway. The restaurant offered two types of table seatings: indoor and al fregos. We chose to sit outside. We noticed that we were their first dining customers. We ordered their special entrèe of the day, sautéed shrimps in white wine to share. My wife ate the hamburger and I, the Angus steak as pur mains. The waiting staff was extremely helpful in explaining the menu. We were served drinking water and a portion of an extremely delicious sour dough with flavoured cream. The entrèe and mains were fantasically well prepared. The portion size was also manageable. We were so full after the mains that we had to skip breakfast. Vlaming Eten & Drinken is truly worthy of the positive reviews lavished at them on Tripadvisor. 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Choice for a Jordaan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We wound up at Vlamink on lindengracht after finding its sister restaurant on Prinsengracht booked for the evening. This Bistrot style restaurant is located on a quiet street and it was one of the finest meals we had eaten in Amsterdam. Only 10 tables with some outside seating but a wonderfully warm welcome and a menu that had enough options that our group of 5 was able to share all the offerings. Appetizers included Shrimp in a lemon,butter sauce, carpaccio of tun or beef, fresh Zucchini soup. Main dishes were good size portions: pork loin, a house smoked warm salmon fillet that was prepared perfectly moist and smokey, grass fed huge burger, steak. We were all delighted with our choices. Side dishes were stir fried vegetables, the requisite Fritjes! Or roasted red potatoes. Salads were available. Deserts included a house made Limoncello that hid its significant alcohol content with a fresh lemon flavor served almost frozen, molten chocolate cake,mcreme brûlée with cinnamon ice cream or sorbets/yoghurt ice creams. The pacing of the meal was perfect, waitstaff was attentive and friendly, English menu. We were there on a Tuesday night and all the tables were taken..reservations for either of the locations is highly recommended. Truly one of the best meals we have had during our trip of 10 days. A relaxed and comfortable ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.