We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for a Jordaan restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Choice for a Jordaan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We wound up at Vlamink on lindengracht after finding its sister restaurant on Prinsengracht booked for the evening. This Bistrot style restaurant is located on a quiet street and it was one of the finest meals we had eaten in Amsterdam. Only 10 tables with some outside seating but a wonderfully warm welcome and a menu that had enough options that our group of 5 was able to share all the offerings. Appetizers included Shrimp in a lemon,butter sauce, carpaccio of tun or beef, fresh Zucchini soup. Main dishes were good size portions: pork loin, a house smoked warm salmon fillet that was prepared perfectly moist and smokey, grass fed huge burger, steak. We were all delighted with our choices. Side dishes were stir fried vegetables, the requisite Fritjes! Or roasted red potatoes. Salads were available. Deserts included a house made Limoncello that hid its significant alcohol content with a fresh lemon flavor served almost frozen, molten chocolate cake,mcreme brûlée with cinnamon ice cream or sorbets/yoghurt ice creams. The pacing of the meal was perfect, waitstaff was attentive and friendly, English menu. We were there on a Tuesday night and all the tables were taken..reservations for either of the locations is highly recommended. Truly one of the best meals we have had during our trip of 10 days. A relaxed and comfortable ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    331
    91
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Montana
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Board written menu, nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We didn't know what to expect here. We were happy customers by the time we finished our meal.
The photos included are not of the entrees b/c we were excited to eat when they came. The started were very good and the entrees even better.
The small restaurant is efficiently run but once they get busy you will wait for your server to return.
They do take reservations and they are recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Vlaming Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Relaxed and understated, the restaurant and menu are small but deliver in every aspect: great food, friendly service and good value. It was packed on a Monday evening so reservations are suggested. Bob replied to my email request. Go visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There were only 5 items on the menu on the evening we visited. Steak with blue cheese was good, risotto was average. Solid meal but not amazing. Probably wouldnt recommend it to a friend, but if you are in the area and looking for a meal - give it a go.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Vlaming eten & drinken, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest, you’re right: we have a limited menu. As you must have noticed we also have just a small number of seats and thus, if we want to guarantee fresh products every day, we can’t offer too many different dishes. But there is choice for everybody: meat, fish and veggie. Apart from the menu there are some specials of the day, which are mentioned on the mirror. I think you can send your friends without any risk :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not worth the rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate at the BrasserieVlaming last year because this one was closed and had a very good meal there. In the interest of finding what the "mother Ship" could do, I booked a dinner here. It was disappointing based on the ratings. The menu is quite limited even including the daily offerings. We had the gravlaks (only okay) the shrimp (liked) , the fish which we think was perch (liked ) menu hanger steak (okay but cooked perfectly as ordered), and a few desserts. Service was very good and the atmosphere was friendly. This is a neighborhood restaurant that performs well. I do not know what generates its top ratings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Vlaming eten & drinken, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest from Atlanta, concerning the limited menu I answered to another review already:
small number of seats, small number of dishes: guaranteed fresh every day!!
We indeed are not a Michelin-star restaurant (and we don’t want to be) but we serve good, sustainable products with a quality – price relation which is appreciated by most of our guests. This ànd the very good service and the friendly atmosphere (as you wrote yourself) makes that most of the writers of reviews rate us so high. And to be honest: your judgement is also not too bad, so the 3 stars could have been 4 :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.