We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,279 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great food, cozy atmosphere, nice location, not crowded. The owner works at this place, she were very friendly and good to us. Food was very delicious, no matter what you order, everything will be high quality and good taste. I will defenately come back again!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    341
    95
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly, unassuming and good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Been with several friends after reading about it. I was a little disappointed at first by the interior. It did not seem the sort of place I would have chosen to go. Don't be fooled. The food is lovely and the service friendly. Prices are very reasonable. A perfect place to enjoy dinner with good friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I brought my Dad here after reading all the amazing TA reviews.
The restaurant is nothng fancy, but it is cosy and inviting and very relaxed. It is run by a lovely family who provide excellent service and are very friendly and helpful.
The menu is fairly standard but the quality of the dishes is good and the food is very tasty. It is also located in a lovely part of town.
I wouldn't say that it should be as high as the current TA ranking, it's not a world class restaurant, or even close to the best in Amsterdam, but it is a nice restaurant if you're looking for a good food that wont break the bank. I

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to go out for a special dinner and we found the right place!
The steak was perfect, the dessert delicious!
Jef is the best host!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A lovely authentic restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Amsterdam. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and were keen to try it. We booked via the website and received confirmation via email the following day. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly waitress and shown to a lovely little table. The restaurant was bustling, full of locals. The menu was small but all options were appealing. We particularly recommend the the mixed starters - a great opportunity to try load of different things. We then had the pork and the beef main courses. We really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.