We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 622 2716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,030 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $60
Cuisines: Dutch, European, French, International, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I brought my Dad here after reading all the amazing TA reviews.
The restaurant is nothng fancy, but it is cosy and inviting and very relaxed. It is run by a lovely family who provide excellent service and are very friendly and helpful.
The menu is fairly standard but the quality of the dishes is good and the food is very tasty. It is also located in a lovely part of town.
I wouldn't say that it should be as high as the current TA ranking, it's not a world class restaurant, or even close to the best in Amsterdam, but it is a nice restaurant if you're looking for a good food that wont break the bank. I

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to go out for a special dinner and we found the right place!
The steak was perfect, the dessert delicious!
Jef is the best host!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A lovely authentic restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Amsterdam. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and were keen to try it. We booked via the website and received confirmation via email the following day. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly waitress and shown to a lovely little table. The restaurant was bustling, full of locals. The menu was small but all options were appealing. We particularly recommend the the mixed starters - a great opportunity to try load of different things. We then had the pork and the beef main courses. We really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our third time returning to this wonderful little restaurant. Fabulous food, a little expensive but sooo worth it
:-)
Wine was great, service was great and food was great. Everything we have come to expect and have yet to be disappointed.
See you again soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tastiest Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Myself and my partner went to Amsterdam for Valentines. I had read previous reviews on restaurants and seen this place had a good reputation. It was a little off the beaten track but I think it added to its charm. A small bistro with a lovely friendly ambiance with a mix of locals and tourists. We both got the steak and stringbeans, it was melt in your mouth delicious. I've never tasted steak like it and value for money was fantastic. I recommend this place to the highest degree.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xshazarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing