We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 'pearl' in the Jordaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, Amsterdam 1015 KD, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 2,223 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Dakar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely a 'pearl' in the Jordaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a great restaurant - and easily overlooked in the buzzing neighbourhood of the Jordaan.
Service is very personal and perfect and so is the food. A really great experience.

Will be back, many times!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    330
    91
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sensational restaurant great service with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I went with my partner for his birthday and we were both very impressed. It has a cozy bistro feel with friendly, knowledgeable staff. We were particularly impressed with the quality wine list and that was before we tasted the exceptional food. You can see the kitchen from the restaurant which is always an impressive sight. Despite the fact it was fully booked we didn't feel cramped or too close to any other table and the service was still very attentive. I would definitely have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and I will definitely visit again the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“great food, good service,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

small and friendly, low keyed, good food. We had an appetizer platter that was out of this world. Great for our business meeting, very pleasant and friendly atmosphere. I will return....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great find on a rainy Friday night in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you are looking for a small friendly welcoming Bistro where the food is good, the beer is cold and the service is perfect give this a go. We had a great evening and were made to feel really welcome in what felt like a real local restaurant. 10/10 from us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding neighborhood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We wanted to eat in a neighborhood restaurant filled with locals eating great food -- and this place is IT. When we had dinner, we weren't aware of any other tourists there, the staff was really friendly and the food just excellent. It's great to walk through the Jordaan and wind up here, but it gets crowded so I would definitely make a reservation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.