We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hosts, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday evening and were delighted with the ambience, the engagement of the hosts and the food was simple yet finished excellently.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    348
    97
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Last week we dined here and had a wonderful experience. We made reservations in advance for two at 630 on a Monday night and ended up being the first patrons. The food was very good and tasty but what impressed me most was the welcoming atmosphere and cordiality extended to us. You could walk by the spot and not notice it but if you do not enter you will be missing a charming dining experience. My favorite dinner of the week that we spent in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining in this restaurant 2 weeks ago. Wonderful service, very friendly staff and terrific food. The limoncello was fantastic and the tasting appetizer for 2 was amazing. Our waitress was kind enough to tell us that the sides were big enough to share and that we'd ordered too much! It was a 40 minute walk along the canal and worth every step!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Words can not describe how amazing this place is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can not even try to provide a review that will give this place the credit it deserves. It is not a beautiful place and one would easily walk by - but ignore that and make a reservation! We had a very friendly waitress who was extremely efficient and very good. We started off with smoked salmon and then moved onto the steak and seabass. The steak was so tender that my husband honestly cut it with his fork. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. My seabass was also perfectly cooked and packed with an incredible flavour. Our wine was beautiful and complemented our dishes perfectly. We also had a side order of green beans and peas that were crisp tender. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better we were brought out the sticky toffee pie which melted our hearts and has left us craving for it ever since. A beautiful mix of sweetness and warmth that I have never experienced. Espresso was also great and finished the meal off perfectly. Absolutely must visit this place when you are in Amsterdam!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food, excellent friendly service, great atmosphere. We had a fantastic time would thoroughly recommend this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.