We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can not describe how amazing this place is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 622 2716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,580 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $59
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Words can not describe how amazing this place is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can not even try to provide a review that will give this place the credit it deserves. It is not a beautiful place and one would easily walk by - but ignore that and make a reservation! We had a very friendly waitress who was extremely efficient and very good. We started off with smoked salmon and then moved onto the steak and seabass. The steak was so tender that my husband honestly cut it with his fork. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. My seabass was also perfectly cooked and packed with an incredible flavour. Our wine was beautiful and complemented our dishes perfectly. We also had a side order of green beans and peas that were crisp tender. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better we were brought out the sticky toffee pie which melted our hearts and has left us craving for it ever since. A beautiful mix of sweetness and warmth that I have never experienced. Espresso was also great and finished the meal off perfectly. Absolutely must visit this place when you are in Amsterdam!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    140
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wonderful food, excellent friendly service, great atmosphere. We had a fantastic time would thoroughly recommend this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pargas, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The homemade limoncello was a superb closing for our dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, I usually steer away from Tripadvisor restaurant top ratings. But situated in my favourite Amsterdam neighborhood, I just had to pop in.
The menu is homely and to the point, daily specials should get your tastebuds activated. Food is an excellent mix of Vlaamish home cooking with a twist of satisfying a hungry tourist heart. There's room for small surprises even, like my limoncello teaser.
Highly recommendable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Read the reviews on trip adviser and thought we'd try a walk in. Arrived at 8pm on a tue night and couldn't believe our luck in getting the last table for 2. The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming and this little intimate restaurant just oozed appeal for foodies. We ordered the sharing starter which was delightful followed by 2 steaks which were perfectly cooked. The freshly cooked vegetables on the side complimented our steaks to perfection. The staff were attentive to our drinks despite it being so busy and we left feeling we experienced one of Amsterdam's little gems.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked the restaurant Sunday night through internet (tried VE&D, which appeared to be closed on Sunday and were suggested Brasserie).
We came at 18:30 ( half hour before the booking time) - there was a cue of people without booking, our table was waiting for us.
We took daily specials (soup & see bass) which were exceptionally good as well as a duck from menu. Wines selection is reasonably balanced between price and alternatives. Both menu and wine list are not too long, but considering the quality of food and size of the place it seems absolutely fine.
Thing to consider - portions are very generous, so we didn't even try deserts.
Looking forward to coming back next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.