We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to eat in the nicest place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, Amsterdam 1015 KD, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 2,151 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you want to eat in the nicest place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Visiting from England we booked ahead via email not knowing what we were going to experience but our fellow 'trippies' rated the place so we thought we would try.

We were not disappointed.

On arrival the reserved pavement table had our name on..thanks Frans.

Claire, our host was amazing, food and wine advice knowlegable with personable manner and good sense of humour. Other staff also really nice as were fellow customers.

This family run restaurant had a good selection of food and wine. We had the burger, the risotto and the pork. All excellent.

Puddings are to die for... Sticky toffee with the best ever sauce ( and I have tried lots before ) and the ice cream amazing.

If you only eat in one place in Amsterdam... MAKE IT HERE !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    304
    81
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Needs 4.5 rather than 4 out of 5 overall, such are the limitations of a TA review. The food was great, the decor nice and service was attentive, thought slightly slow. The Bites for Two appetizer, a great sampling of all they have. Each delectable. Vitelli tonnato app perfect and a flavorful smoked salmon also as appetizers. The mains were all topnotch. Vegetarian risotto, tuna seared with sesame, a super sized burger with well seasoned meat, bacon, egg was huge, though quite good. So big it was difficult to eat. Sides of cream pasta, two orders of perfect frites, a bottle of rose and carafe of wine was also ordered. We finished with sticky toffee cake, pralenes so so, and extra creamy yoghurt ice cream. What totally blew me away was an amazing homemade limoncello, not to be missed. Better than anything I've had in Italy. Well worth the cost of 210 euros including a tip. Great place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best steak and sticky date pudding...EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a back-up dinner option as our first option was closed, but I'm SOO glad we went here as it was the best meal I've had in a very long time! I had the steak with blue cheese sauce and the sticky date pudding. AMAZING!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner here while on a short break in Amsterdam, having read about the restaurant on Tripadvisor. The is a small, unpretentious restaurant, with charming hosts. From a simple, but excellent menu, we chose the mixed starter, which turned out to be small portions of each of the starters on the menu - delicious! Our other choices were equally as good and we rounded off the meal with a fantastic sticky toffee pudding. Service throughout was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely little restaurant/bar away from the main tourist area. The mushroom and asparagus risotto was fantastic - well cooked and delicious. The burger looked & tasted amazing. Very friendly and attentive service. They even offer blankets for those sitting outside on a chilly night. I recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.