We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206222716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fabulous food....We shared the platter to start, which was a small selection of each starter on meun, including a shot glass of the soup of the day...Delicious. We had steaks and the pork for main. All brilliantly cooked, could not fault it. Ended with the warm chocolate cake..Fantastic meal, lovely location and very friendly. Service is what I am coming to expect. 'Dutch' style, very laid back but attentive when required...Will be going back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    347
    97
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“ENTHUSIASM ABOUNDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found this from tripadvisor. Owner run restaurant, small menu but most choices covered. I even managed to get a simple cocktail here before dinner which has been sadly lacking in Amsterdam. There was a particularly noisy party at the next table but guess this is not easy to manage and the acoustics not great as small room. They check that you are enjoying the food and really mean it. Worth a try

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much fun...such good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Joyful family-run restaurant with simply delicious food. Nice wine list. Cozy atmosphere. Honestly, my steak with blue cheese sauce was just, simply, positively perfect-o.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant food, brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the amount of positive comments about this restaurant on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try. Our expectations were high going into it, and coming out we felt they had been exceeded. On first look it may appear a little pricey, but the food is wonderful, and well worth the money you pay! Service was very quick, and the people were very nice and easy to make conversation with. They also gave a lot of advice on transport and things to see, which we were very grateful for. This place is a gem as many others have said, great food, great service, great atmosphere, perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One evening in Amstedam and we were lucky enough to get a table here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meal delicious. We could see into the small kitchen from our table and watch the energetic preparation. Portions are generous and sharing is not a problem - in fact our waiter actually encouraged it! Be sure to reserve, even by dropping in early in the evening as we did because we lost our phone in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.