We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 622 2716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,762 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $59
Cuisines: Dutch, European, French, International, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One evening in Amstedam and we were lucky enough to get a table here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meal delicious. We could see into the small kitchen from our table and watch the energetic preparation. Portions are generous and sharing is not a problem - in fact our waiter actually encouraged it! Be sure to reserve, even by dropping in early in the evening as we did because we lost our phone in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine, kind staff at low cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We eat the best tuna steak with an excellent ermita veracruz wine. Delicious! The staff is very kind and the athmosphere relaxed. They offer to us their homemade limoncello. 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
228 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relief from Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had emailed the staff at Vlaming eten & drinken a couple of weeks ago about a reservation for a family of four. The restaurant has excellent reviews and has been recommended to me personally by friends. Unfortunately we did not receive a confirmation via email. We arrived Amsterdam yesterday after 4 days in Paris. We were trying to make dinner plans last night when my phone rang and it was the staff at Vlaming asking if we would make our reservation. I said we could not make 7:00 but if they could seat us at 8:00 we could make it. They accommodated and it was the best meal we've had in 9 days in Europe and it was the most reasonable. The staff made us feel welcome, very welcome, to join them. They were fantastic with our kids and provided us with an outstanding meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
500 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Good quality with attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is small but very pleasant. We arrived without reservation and were fortunate to get outside seating.

We chose some of the day’s specials on the recommendation and unstinting advice of the waiter. These were excellent. We accompanied them with good Dutch beer that was very refreshing in the hot evening.

It is a lovely location, on a not too busy street. It was very pleasant relaxing and watching the pedestrians and many cyclists go by. The waiter was very pleasant, taking time over every detail.

A lovely dining occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with an excellent food and a vert good price-quality relation.
Salmon Gradlax is marvelous and tuna is perfectly cooked.
Service is absolutly charming!
A large choice of wine glasses.

Helpful?
1 Thank Schnacka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing