We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Lindengracht 95 | Jordaan, 1015 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 622 2716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $59
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One evening in Amstedam and we were lucky enough to get a table here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meal delicious. We could see into the small kitchen from our table and watch the energetic preparation. Portions are generous and sharing is not a problem - in fact our waiter actually encouraged it! Be sure to reserve, even by dropping in early in the evening as we did because we lost our phone in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    135
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine, kind staff at low cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We eat the best tuna steak with an excellent ermita veracruz wine. Delicious! The staff is very kind and the athmosphere relaxed. They offer to us their homemade limoncello. 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Relief from Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had emailed the staff at Vlaming eten & drinken a couple of weeks ago about a reservation for a family of four. The restaurant has excellent reviews and has been recommended to me personally by friends. Unfortunately we did not receive a confirmation via email. We arrived Amsterdam yesterday after 4 days in Paris. We were trying to make dinner plans last night when my phone rang and it was the staff at Vlaming asking if we would make our reservation. I said we could not make 7:00 but if they could seat us at 8:00 we could make it. They accommodated and it was the best meal we've had in 9 days in Europe and it was the most reasonable. The staff made us feel welcome, very welcome, to join them. They were fantastic with our kids and provided us with an outstanding meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
426 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Good quality with attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is small but very pleasant. We arrived without reservation and were fortunate to get outside seating.

We chose some of the day’s specials on the recommendation and unstinting advice of the waiter. These were excellent. We accompanied them with good Dutch beer that was very refreshing in the hot evening.

It is a lovely location, on a not too busy street. It was very pleasant relaxing and watching the pedestrians and many cyclists go by. The waiter was very pleasant, taking time over every detail.

A lovely dining occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with an excellent food and a vert good price-quality relation.
Salmon Gradlax is marvelous and tuna is perfectly cooked.
Service is absolutly charming!
A large choice of wine glasses.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaming eten & drinken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.