We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom

Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom
Reguliersbreestraat 36, 1017 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6231205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,307 of 2,412 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dutch, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I tasted a strawberry pastry and was delicious!!! For a desert I think is really a good place!! The price is good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our tour guide took us here to try a croquette which was delicious, but the real star are the desserts! The ambiance is great and the staff is really friendly and knowledgeable. We came back here to get dessert and bought three cakes (chocolate mousse, chocolate cherry, and raspberry mouse with a cookie bottom) all of which were absolutely amazing. Be aware though, they close at 5pm so be sure to buy dessert before dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A lovely place, with the most amazing ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As you walk down Rembrandtplein, if your eyes wander to the window of this wonderful patisserie, that's it - you are lost and must visit. And take it from me, that's no bad thing! The ice creams, cakes, pastries, chocolates, pasties, etc are enough to entice anyone, with fresh orange juice or coffee to wash it down - it all looks mouthwatering!

I partook of the ice cream, on a couple of occasions. They have many different flavours to choose from - forest fruits, vanilla, rum and raisin, mango, coffee, chocolate, the usuals. But my particular favourites were the Honey and Almond and Dutch Cinnamon. It was such a pity when they were finished, I had to go back the following day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream, cakes and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just off of Rembrandt Square, you will find this unassuming and yet excellent little bakery.... We tried the sausage rolls and the cheese rolls, which were delicious, but, in my opinion, their area of excellence lies in the ice creams they sell; rich full-bodied and full of fruit, such as Forest Fruits, Strawberry and Cherry Yoghurt, or Honey and Almond, Dutch Cinnamon, Chocolate and so many more that I didn't get to taste.

Pop in and lose yourself in some of the most amazing chocolate you will ever get to taste.

The staff are friendly and polite, making the whole experience a pleasure..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“maybe good for local standart....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

nice coffee bakery just at rembrandsplein, good fresh orange juice and coffee after our arrival in town so we cam back for pastry the other day.

facination videos about the production, the pastry looks very good, we decide to try one of the dypical dutch applecakes and a sachertarte - just to find out how the dutch version gonna be.

the apple tarte is nice, not that i would travel for it there, a bit to sweet, but is the local taste - a had several apple tartes in town before and all tend to be to sweet.

the sacher, good chocolat, bad not nice in texture as not fully baked or to much marmelade. after have of it i give up, filling but not "lekker" at all

well - for a sacher you not need to travel to amsterdam and once again: in pastries stay with apple tart whats usually quite nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.