We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom

Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom
Reguliersbreestraat 36, 1017 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6231205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,099 of 2,485 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dutch, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great cakes and pastries, nice coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We ate here every day doing our best to try all the cakes between us yummmm cant wait to go back lovely cakes and great staff yum

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Awesome cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a small self service cafe with fabulous cakes. They have a great selection and the coffee is excellent. We visited here more than once it was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Cakes To Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stumbled across this pattisserie of necessity whilst on a relaxed stroll around Amsterdam.
Its a self service cafe so there are no airs and graces just succulent tasty cakes, good strong coffee and a relaxed atmosphere with like minded spirits tucking in. Be warned - one look at the window display and you will have no choice...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Tasty fare for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came across this place while trying to locate Pathe cinema house. While not too sure what to expect from the menu, we decided nevertheless to enter and find out. The ambience was really cool. This place was stocked up on a lot of goodies and we were really stumped for nearly fifteen minutes as we just could not make up our mind. Finally, we had a raisin fritter, a marzipan delight, a nougat pastry and a chocolate cake. This was washed down with a croquet and a coffee. All this for less than what we had expected. All the items tasted fantastic. Their breakfast and lunch menus are also quite good. Sad that none of us eat meat, otherwise we make have tried that as well. The staff was well mannered and did help us out with our queries. Next time around I am going to try a dry fruit pastry and get a large cake with my wife's photograph on it for her birthday. ;). Recommended for everybody. The Dutch are famous for their bakery products and this is very good place to get a try and enjoy Dutch baked goodies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.