We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom

Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom
Reguliersbreestraat 36, 1017 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6231205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,244 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Dutch, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great cakes and pastries, nice coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We ate here every day doing our best to try all the cakes between us yummmm cant wait to go back lovely cakes and great staff yum

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Awesome cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a small self service cafe with fabulous cakes. They have a great selection and the coffee is excellent. We visited here more than once it was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Cakes To Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stumbled across this pattisserie of necessity whilst on a relaxed stroll around Amsterdam.
Its a self service cafe so there are no airs and graces just succulent tasty cakes, good strong coffee and a relaxed atmosphere with like minded spirits tucking in. Be warned - one look at the window display and you will have no choice...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Tasty fare for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came across this place while trying to locate Pathe cinema house. While not too sure what to expect from the menu, we decided nevertheless to enter and find out. The ambience was really cool. This place was stocked up on a lot of goodies and we were really stumped for nearly fifteen minutes as we just could not make up our mind. Finally, we had a raisin fritter, a marzipan delight, a nougat pastry and a chocolate cake. This was washed down with a croquet and a coffee. All this for less than what we had expected. All the items tasted fantastic. Their breakfast and lunch menus are also quite good. Sad that none of us eat meat, otherwise we make have tried that as well. The staff was well mannered and did help us out with our queries. Next time around I am going to try a dry fruit pastry and get a large cake with my wife's photograph on it for her birthday. ;). Recommended for everybody. The Dutch are famous for their bakery products and this is very good place to get a try and enjoy Dutch baked goodies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.