We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes To Die For” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom

Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom
Reguliersbreestraat 36, 1017 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6231205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,351 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dutch, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Cakes To Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stumbled across this pattisserie of necessity whilst on a relaxed stroll around Amsterdam.
Its a self service cafe so there are no airs and graces just succulent tasty cakes, good strong coffee and a relaxed atmosphere with like minded spirits tucking in. Be warned - one look at the window display and you will have no choice...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Tasty fare for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came across this place while trying to locate Pathe cinema house. While not too sure what to expect from the menu, we decided nevertheless to enter and find out. The ambience was really cool. This place was stocked up on a lot of goodies and we were really stumped for nearly fifteen minutes as we just could not make up our mind. Finally, we had a raisin fritter, a marzipan delight, a nougat pastry and a chocolate cake. This was washed down with a croquet and a coffee. All this for less than what we had expected. All the items tasted fantastic. Their breakfast and lunch menus are also quite good. Sad that none of us eat meat, otherwise we make have tried that as well. The staff was well mannered and did help us out with our queries. Next time around I am going to try a dry fruit pastry and get a large cake with my wife's photograph on it for her birthday. ;). Recommended for everybody. The Dutch are famous for their bakery products and this is very good place to get a try and enjoy Dutch baked goodies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Could of been better if the staff was nicer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading the Herb Lester review about this restaurant, my friend and I were set on going to try a croquette. They are famous for them after all. We were excited and well this is what happened..

We walked in, asked (in english since we do not know dutch) what typed of croquettes they have and the woman working initially said something in dutch to her co-worker and she then looked at us too. She was clearly making fun of us. For no reason. We were being very nice. She proceed to tell us all the options and we decided on trying the vegetable one since we came all that way. We waited and she gave them to us with no smile and being quite mean. We decided to go walk and eat them around the corner, only to find out that what we were given were spicy and meat filled. There was not a single vegetable. I can only assume this was done on purpose. Who does that to people? Not nice. Thank goodness I am not vegetarian, and I actually did like it. But would never recommend going there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwekkeboom, Manager at Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Jolyne,

Thanks for your visit & review.
First of all i would like to apologize for the bad experience, maybe the employee your mentioning was lost in translation.
I know that’s not an excuse for bad service, but I can’t imagine that any of our employees would do such a thing on purpose. We’ll take it up in the next staff meeting.

I hope to welcome you in one of our stores in the future for a better experience, and that you’ve had a pleased stay in Amsterdam anyways!

Kind regards,
P. Kwekkeboom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy food great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We came here a couple of mornings for breakfast and each time we had our eyes on the variety of beautiful cakes. So on the last morning we had one for breakfast..ooops :) was soo delicious along with all of the other food and drinks that we had. The price was around 11 euros for 2 drinks, 2 croissants and 2 sausage pastries. You can also buy little chocolates which are nice as presents to bring home. The staff also spoke excellent english.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good pastries & cake in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you are in Amsterdam & want to try Dutch traditional cake or pastries… please go to “Kwekkeboom”

There are many varieties of pastries & cakes. When you order hot coffee or hot chocolate you will get a small piece of almond butter cake (I don’t know the exactly name) it’s real Dutch cake and if you like it, you can order a big piece. I also ordered cheese cake and the taste was good. Price is cheap if compare with their quality and location

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banketbakkerij Kwekkeboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.