We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list
Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I arranged our February stay with some trepidation, as a surprise for my husband's 70th birthday - he did not even know where he was going let alone that he would be staying on a boat! It was perfect! So much better than a hotel where, if you return to your room during the day for a rest you feel couped up. The boat was roomy, warm and very comfortable, it had everything we could need and if we had realised we might have prepared ourselves for more self-catering ... or perhaps not given the excellent restaurants we found, via Tripadvisor. We had an excellent birthday dinner complete with fireworks at Greetje nearby and a delicious breakfast at Gartine.

Our only request to our excellent hosts in time for our next visit - a light switch at the top of the hatch so that when we return from a night out we can see our way more easily down the precipitous steps into the boat!

Can we fault it - NO!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I guess there's not much to say when you arrive somewhere new, and feel like home in a matter of minutes!!! I personally loved the houseboats so much,I'd rather stay inside then discover A'dam!! Cozy,warm,clean,fully equipped,great WiFi,nice view and last but not least...absolutely perfect location!! It's a 5' walk from Amsterdam Central Station,5' walk to the Nieuwmarkt and about 10' to the Red Lights!!what else do you need??? A bike maybe to do all the rest,but Katarina and Eric (the lovely hosts) will help you find anything you want or need!!They're so cool!!Respect their rules and they will treat you like family!!They will provide you with a map and give you the best tips for making your stay in A'dam worth it!! I actually miss them and my lovely boat and hopefully I will going back there very soon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the best in Amsterdam. I am for the first time in Amsterdam and I could not imagine that it would be so great. Eric is a legend! I love the NEW LOVE boat and really everything about it. It's warm , perfect location and the WiFi very fast. I am really happy here and do not want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed on the love houseboat in July 2013 for our wedding anniversairy for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay. Location is brilliant and very easy to get to from centrale station and walking distance to all the main areas. As the owner was away on holiday we were greeted by 2 friendly girls at the boat whom went through everything we needed to know about the boat and also local areas on where to shop for food/tourist areas to visit. It is very safe and secure.
If you havent been to amsterdam and want to experience it in a truely unique way I would definately book this boat, it made our stay in amsterdam extra special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Love House Boat is definitely the place to stay if you want to get a real feel of being in Amsterdam. The boat is located close to everything and yet inside it's quiet and peaceful. The hosts are very friendly and sincere, and will do everything they can for your stay to be comfortable and fun.

We had the chance to stay on two different boats. Rose is modern and well-decorated. Sunset is spacious and classical, and it even has a large terrace with a nice view.

Would recommended it to everyone visiting Amsterdam

Room Tip: Rose if perfect for a couple. It is recently renovated (e.g. it has floor heating, a fancy shower, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had the BEST weekend on the Rose Boat. Super location just a short walk from the station and into the main square. Super boat very well kept and cosy, perfect for a couple looking. The hosts were very friendly and helpful but also left you alone with complete privacy on the boat. I would definately reccommend the boat x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My crew of 4 and I had a BLAST! When I was booking Nina was quick to respond and she worked well with our tight schedule! Plenty of room for the 5 of us! We only had a short stay but next time we will surely try to stay longer. We arrived about an hour or so early and Eric met us without a problem. He was a perfect host! He gave us a map and pointed us in the right direction to enjoy this awesome city! The boat was clean and comfortable. This is the perfect location to walk to many of the hot spots. I highly recommend staying on one of these houseboats! Thank you so much for being part of our unforgettable visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Love HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Love Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.