We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, sexy and practical. Wish she's mine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Save
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list
Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic, sexy and practical. Wish she's mine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Love boat indeed!

This is an interesting place to stay stay in wheather you are coming as a couple or having friends along.

Spacious lounge - perfect for lounging or party time. There's a basic speaker to connect to your iPod (or the like) and there's also a CD player with a seductive Selections of songs (Miles Davies And some good old love songs too). I highly recommend taking Your own party mix for music.

There's a mini kitchen with all the necessities you need. Fridge and a cooking hob. Pans are provided and all the basic kitchen needs.

The bathroom has a cosy tub and a transparently decorated windowsill so whoever is in the room can see whoever in the bath.. Very sexy.

The loo however is a bit of a hassle coz it's a boat so, you cant dispose tissues in it but everything else functions perfect.

The interior decor is quite interesting which compliment the boat. Has little bits of pictures on the wall and decoration to personalise the room. The launge and dinning place is decorated exotically. Perfect for 2 or more!

It's quite steep to get in our rooms but that only made it more interesting but id recommend to remain semi sober when getting In there!

There's also tables and chairs on the deck with a view of the station and nemo science meuseum. All very nice.

It's located really close to everything so I can't ask for a better location.

Overall, it was one of those cool rooms that you get to talk about to your friends and it gives you all the need if a hotel room could provide and MUCH MORE!

Romantic, sexy and practical. I absolutely recommend this to the laid back travellers or for a small party.

Would definitely love to go back there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

With only a 5 minute walk away from the hustle bustle centre, the Love Boat was just the best place to stay. We spent 3 nights there and really didn't want to come home! Perfect for couples having a break away together. Well equipped,comfortable,homely. Hosts Eric and Nina are so friendly and ready with tips for enjoying your stay in the beautiful city of Amsterdam.
Would definitely give 5* and will definitely be booking to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent five days at Music boat and had a great time. The Boat is perfect for people who want to live near everything but still have privacy. We did find our host Erik very helpfull. He had great tips about everything you might want to do and experience in Amsterdam. The Only negative side is the lack of creditcard payment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamLoveBoat, Eigenaar at Amsterdam Love Houseboat, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure having you on board and I am
really happy that you have had a great time in Amsterdam.

As our guests are staying in our private homes, we do not have credit card machines on board.
But, if you prefer to pay with a card upon arrival, we can email you a PayPal invoice. If you choose the button 'PAYMENT BY CREDIT CARD', you can pay in a split second by card or by PayPall.

I hope that you and your friends are doing well, and that I will welcome you soon again on board of our boats. Payment by credit card upon arrival is included : -)

Warm regards from Amsterdam,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed on the Love Boat for 3 nights, and found it to be perfect. The boat is surprisingly spacious and fully equipped with everything you need for your stay - even a big bathtub, books to read, and speakers for our mp3 players! We enjoyed sitting out on our terrace, and the location is great for exploring the city. We also particularly appreciated the map and advice from Eric & Nina on arrival, with tips for local shops, places to eat and drink, and locations to visit. The only downside was that we were only there for 3 days, so we hope to come back for a longer visit soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful ship with great rooms. Accommodation is only 5 minutes walk from the center. Hosts are very friendly, and you can ask them everything you need. They know everything about Amsterdam, and it s a pleasure for them to share with us.
10 +

We will come back soon.

Room Tip: Hosts are very friendly, ask them everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Have not long got back from a long weekend away with my boyfriend, it was my first time to amsterdam, my partner had been before. When we got to central station we used the map we had been emailed before hand and found the boat which was a really short walk about 5-10 minutes depending how fast you walk. We was then greated by our Host Olga, who was very welcoming, she covered everything there was to know about the boat and then took time to sit with us and mark out places to go on the map, such as the best supermarket, which we got a discount chip for. We used the map to get us about all weekend.

Usually when you go away, the first thing you want to get back to is your bed, well not in our case, the bed in the love house boat was really very comfortable it was a real struggle getting up early on the monday morning to get our flight home.

Central station is about 10-15 minutes via train from the airport so the boat really is in a perfect location, there is so much to do and see in Amsterdam and I truely believe that staying on the Love house boat made it an even better experience.

It really was a perfect trip and without a doubt we will defianlty be going back, hopefully this year and hopefully to one of there other boats.

Hope your enjoy your stay as much as we did :)

Room Tip: there wasnt a swimming pool, accidently click on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After scrolling many of it's good reviews , we decided to booked the place and coordinate with Nina by placing a 50% deposit.

We stay 3 nights at New Love with my family of four .

Upon arrival , we were brief for approx. 25 minutes by Eric which include nearby grocery shops ( with discount if you show the House boat key chain ) ,bicycle routes , places of interest etc

Red light district , Chinatown , central station are within 10mins walk . There is also an old wind mill within 5 to 8 minutes by bicycle

Pros :

Superb location
Interior nicely decorated ( 1st Deck kitchen / living room and 2nd deck sleeping area and toilets )
Peaceful and not noisy , although it's near to the main road
The boat is not rocky ( probably the bottom half of the boat is already embedded in mud )
The view is quite nice facing the direction of station and close by Chinese restaurant .
Near to water and seagull , ducks abound at certain time.
Free Wi Fi and a bottle of red wine

Cons

On the 1st Deck , there is a doll ( approx. 1 metre height ) located next to the sofa . I personally feel very uncomfortable at times ( probably because of the movie ) .
It was only when we check out from the boat house on the 3rd day , did the rest of my family members voiced out similar feeling.

The access from 1st Deck to the bottom deck is via a slightly steep staircase . Take note for those with mobility access ( see attached photos for your own evaluation ) .


Overall I would rate the experience as excellent and do not mind to come back again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Love HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Love Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.