We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 TIME AT THE HOUSEBOAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2 TIME AT THE HOUSEBOAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was the second time that we rent with Eric and Nina. The houseboat was awesome for us, everything was perfect. The owners of the boat are very nice, and helpful.They know everything about Amsterdam, and it s a pleasure for them to share with us. So after some tips from them, you can rent a bike just next door and go to the center (just 2 min by bike from the houseboat).
So his trip was one of my best in Amsterdam.The next time that i will be back in Amsterdam, i will definitely book again the same one.

So you can close your eyes and book the houseboat without no doubt. After this you will have some great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just like the city, this is a quirky, atmospheric, friendly, odd, wonderful place. Incredibly close to Centraal, and therefore close to everything (because you can always grab a tram or hire a bike there even if you don't want to walk).
Some hints and tips:
- If you aren't used to sleeping on a boat, it really is worth bringing earplugs. After a few days you get used to the odd noises (bilge pumps, people walking over your boat, flotsam knocking on the hull) but if you are only there for a couple of nights it will help you sleep to have access to earplugs.
- it's an incredibly romantic boat, but if you are going there with a new love, consider how well you know them. Are you going to be happy sharing a bin for your toilet paper, or will that dampen your ardour?
- no need to bring books to read; there's a whole bookcase by the bed. Also free wifi, and about a million dvds.
- no need to bring plug adapters, UK people. They provide them too.
- there will be a bottle of wine waiting for you on arrival. I drank mine while in the bath, looking up at the stars.
We were there on one of the coldest spring days in recorded history, but the boat was cosy and the bathwater was piping hot. A wonderful base to explore the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamLoveBoat, Eigenaar at Amsterdam Love Houseboat, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Lumitytto,

Thank you for your review and your breath taking photo's of the Amsterdam Love HouseBoat.
So beautiful!

I see, that you have a TripAdvisor professional badge; and, -from the 30 reviews you have written so far-, that you are a guest who is not easy to please. So, I am even more happy that you have enjoyed your stay on the Love boat so much.

Even though I must admit, the circumstances were not so great at all. It was not only the coldest day, as you say, but also, a very very windy day.
Strong wind produces waves, pushing all the stuff that people drop, and unfortunately, also just throw in the waters of Amsterdam, towards the boats: bottles, garbage bags, woods.... and sometimes some of that stuff lands in between the boats and bangs and bangs.
Luckily it happens once in a million, but, it happens.

The morning after you had left, the cleaners found a wooden table (!) floating in between the boats! I can only imagine how that must have sounded to you.

It was the coldest day, very windy day, one in a million day... but hey... you could still have a great sleep if you only have had contacted us.
When we rent our boats we hope that our guests will experience all the pleasures of living on water. But we also expect them to take responsibility. It's obvious that when you hear strange noises you need earplugs as much as you need a swimming suit when you see pouring water around your bed!
In that case, the only thing you need to do is.... to ACT!
Or.. to let us act for you!

I am so sorry that you did not text, nor email, call, neither told us that something was not quite OK there for you. All our numbers were right there on your table... right? we only a few meters away from your boat, right ?
We would have found and taken the table out for you immediately!
Fishing banging stuff out of the waters of Amsterdam, is one of the greatest pleasures for boat people to do : -)

I hope that your NewLove has become your TrueLove,
and that I will welcome both of you soon on board again,
preferably on a hot, wind-less, floating-table-less, silent day.
Looking forward to it,

Warm regards from Amsterdam,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a surprise for my birthday, my wife booked a weekend in Amsterdam staying on The Rose houseboat. We visited from 15th to 18th March. I had never stayed on a houseboat before and wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I wasn't disappointed.

First of all it didn't feel like we were on a boat and having looked at the many houseboats while we were there, I think the reason for this may be that it is one of if not the fanciest houseboat in all of Amsterdam.

When we arrived in horrible weather, sleet and snow, we were promptly met by Olga, as Nina and Erik were unavailable, who gave us a quick tour of the facilities which were all you could need for a short (or even a longer) stay. The living and kitchen area is compact, but we didn't do any cooking so it was fine for us, but if you want to cook it has all you would need. We couldn't figure out how to operate the music system, but that was maybe down to us and we weren't there to listen to music.

The spiral staircase to the bedroom and bathroom area appeared a bit daunting at first, but was fine. The bedroom was spacious and had a flat screen TV on one wall and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was good with a large good shower, although I sometimes nearly forgot to use the bin for disposing of toilet paper as you are not allowed to put it down the toilet. My favourite feature of the houseboat were the heated concrete floors on both levels.

It was in a superb location, with decent views and no more than a ten minute walk from Central Station and a five minute walk from the Nieumarket area (which was a tip from Olga) where you will find no shortage of cafes, restaurants, a supermarket, a food market on Saturday, ATMs, etc. and things are generally cheaper than in central Amsterdam.

Despite it being located next to a main road, there was no problem with traffic or other noise.

I would also recommend that you go across the road to the Café Pollux and introduce yourself to Fritz who is one of the friendliest barmen I have met, although all of the Dutch people seem to be very friendly and helpful.

One tip I would give is don't feed the ducks. We did and were promptly invaded by a flock of seagulls, but they disappeared as soon as the food was gone.

Nina and Erik were friendly and unobtrusive hosts who will accommodate special requests (my wife had requested champagne to be there on our arrival). Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this houseboat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing boat in great location. Many thanks to Nina, Olga and Kasia who were all very helpful. The boat has all the facilities you need to cook, listen to music, watch DVD's, relax while looking at the beautiful view of the canal. There is a lovely small Chinese restaurant close by also which is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When in Amsterdam first time on a house boat love boat great experience felt like I was in true Amsterdam the location is close to central station tourist near bye with plenty of transport bikes well it is Amsterdam and of course the tram house boats close bye every one is vey friendly the accommodation is great everything your need lovely shower comfortable bed perfect stay feels like your experience is unique have a great time I did

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are looking for a true Amsterdam Experience than stop looking: Love Houseboats is the place that will cater all your needs. It was so cool to be floating on water in the heart of the city at walking distance from all the hotspots, and yet still have the feeling to be out in nature, only some ducks came along. The free-spirited and life-loving hosts are more than helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed on the boat for three nights and had a fantastic time. I would definitely go back to Amsterdam and I would hesitate to stay anywhere else.

The boat is situated very close to Centraal Station, tourist information and tram stops which makes getting to and from the airport/ and navigating the city. The location is quaint and authentic - the surrounding houseboat owners are friendly and helpful but non-invasive. Bikes are available to rent from a neighbouring boat.

The boat has been decorated in a unique fashion and there are many curiosities to be found in the nooks and crannies of the boat. The original features of the boat are lovely. It has been decorated in a romantic way that is very suited to couples but could still be enjoyed by other types of groups.

The Love boat is on the Lower Deck so the stairs - as mentioned before - are steep. I would disagree with anyone that says noise is an issue. When you're in the Love Boat it genuinely feels as if the whole boat is completely your own.

It is really handy being able to communicate with the 'hosts' of the boat before and during the stay.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 172 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Love HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Love Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list