We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Amsterdam experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list
Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The real Amsterdam experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are looking for a true Amsterdam Experience than stop looking: Love Houseboats is the place that will cater all your needs. It was so cool to be floating on water in the heart of the city at walking distance from all the hotspots, and yet still have the feeling to be out in nature, only some ducks came along. The free-spirited and life-loving hosts are more than helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed on the boat for three nights and had a fantastic time. I would definitely go back to Amsterdam and I would hesitate to stay anywhere else.

The boat is situated very close to Centraal Station, tourist information and tram stops which makes getting to and from the airport/ and navigating the city. The location is quaint and authentic - the surrounding houseboat owners are friendly and helpful but non-invasive. Bikes are available to rent from a neighbouring boat.

The boat has been decorated in a unique fashion and there are many curiosities to be found in the nooks and crannies of the boat. The original features of the boat are lovely. It has been decorated in a romantic way that is very suited to couples but could still be enjoyed by other types of groups.

The Love boat is on the Lower Deck so the stairs - as mentioned before - are steep. I would disagree with anyone that says noise is an issue. When you're in the Love Boat it genuinely feels as if the whole boat is completely your own.

It is really handy being able to communicate with the 'hosts' of the boat before and during the stay.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent Stay – Highly Recommended!!



We were a group of four stayed in the new love house boat and enjoyed every bit of it. On arrival Nina [Owner] took time out to explain how the boat works, what to expect, do’s and don’ts. This was very helpful and also marked us out on a map and recommended a few places to eat. The owners live close by in a house boat of their own which is worth a visit [of course with their permission]. The new love boat is one half of a big boat where the living quarters are on the first level and the lower level are the beds, toilet and washroom. We had a family of ducks & swans visit us every morning to join us for breakfast along with a whole lot of sea gulls which added to the feeding experience. If you want the experience of staying the way the Dutch do; then please do the house boat. The New Love Boat is one of the 4 houseboats so you do have a choice of which best suits you. We were so impressed with the houseboat that we spent most of our time in the houseboat.



- Location is perfect; very close to most attractions in Amsterdam.

- Walkable distance to the central station.

- Ample for a family or a group of 4.

- Adequate sit out areas.

- Well equipped kitchen.

- On site car parking.

- Very helpful and professional owners.

- Good heating system.

- Centrum, RLD, all within walking distance.

- No noise pollution.

- Good experience!!



Note: Please note that the upper and lower levels are accessible via a steep staircase which was ok with us but not for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Forget everywhere else... this boat is where it's at! Such a novelty.. but at the same time it has all the practicalities you would ever need or want in holiday accommodation. The other reviews comprehensively outline all the advantages of this boat so I won't reiterate but I'll just add that it really is a special place, a hotel could never compare and it's even less expensive in some cases. I hope to return here one day.. truly awesome trip, a holiday with a difference. I would highly recommend, especially to couples...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

it was absolutely nice to live on the boat! the hosts are very friendly and cooperative- I have often been to amsterdam, but that stay on their houseboat was unique! we felt welcome and we will come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here on the sunset boat from 18th - 26th November. Nice central location excellent hosts. Will definitely be returning next year. Would definitely like to try the other boats that they have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed on these boats 3 times now and currently planning a 4th stay!

It's the best way to spend a holiday especially when there is a group of you. You can also cook on board so this helps cut costs if your visiting on a budget!

It's best for location just 5 minutes from well everything! You can see the central station from them.

The hosts are really friendly and nothing is ever too much bother.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is visiting the beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Love HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Love Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.