We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Love Houseboat is absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Save
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list
Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Love Houseboat is absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Excellent hosts, excellent accomodation, excellent experience all round. Everything about the New Love Houseboat was perfect. Booking (at the very last minute) was easy and Nina got back to us the very same night that I sent my enquiry. Checking in was a delightful experience and a complimentary bottle of wine was provided. We had a wonderful few hours just exploring the boat with its many features. The kitchen was spotless and the beds were very comfortable indeed. Sitting on deck, watching the swans and ducks, with a glass of wine..... what could be more romantic and lovely?
I have nothing negative to say. I usually stay at five star hotels in Amsterdam but this is by far the best expereince I have had. There is nowhere I would rather stay,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint jean de sixt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The spot: Very orginal, super central.. You'll get such a nice chilled out atmosphere both on the boat deck and inside. It's clean well furnished ... you get a bottle of wine!
The hosts: Really helpful, they also trust their guests and of course the boat tour for the sun set with guitar and apertizers on Amsterdam canals is magic ^^
I can recommend it and will come bacl for sure!
Enjoy

Jérôme

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We rented two boats, one large and one smaller for eight days. There were eight members fo our family and all were very pleased and loved the experience. The boats were very clean and very well maintained. Everything worked as designed! The owners - Katerina and Eric were most helpful. Eric even gave our family a 3 hour tour of the canals on one of the smaller barges. The boats are well located for use of the very handy Amsterdam Tram system since they are a 6 minute walk from Central Station. This option is more fun and much less expensive than a hotel. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All of the boats were quiet at night. Good sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The houseboat in Amsterdam was by far the best place we stayed throughout Europe!

We arranged a taxi pick up from the airport through our booking. Having arrived quite late into the evening this was the best and fastest way to arrive at the accommodation at a late hour. The taxi fare was incredibly reasonable - as the distance did not seem far at all.

We were greeted by our hosts who were very welcoming and informative - providing us the houseboat key, a tour of the houseboat amenities etc. We felt very informed and comfortable upon arrival - which was great as we were quite jet-lagged!

The location was close to everything - we walked absolutely everywhere! Including the short walk to the train station - luggage and all - to make our way to Brussels. It is very close to the train station, so if we had arrived earlier by plane, we would have easily been able to catch the train from the airport.

We really enjoyed waking up on the water! There were ducks, a beautiful city sky-line and we just watched the boating life of Amsterdam. It really was a great locale and unique place to stay.

In terms of amenities we made a lot of use of the deck - we had great, sunny weather so sat above on deck with drinks, music and books etc. Great spots for he sunsets.

The kitchen had everything we needed - which was great as we were self-catering.

The boat was very warm, this was good as it was not peak summer when we were there - we actually got very warm when sleeping which was really good.

There was plenty of space for us to spread out which was also great as some of us wanted to read, others wanted music - the boat was large enough for everyone to have their own space, do their own thing.

Bathroom - very clean. Great hot shower as we remember it!

Definitely recommend staying on the houseboat - as said, such a unique experience and we will most definitely be back! Next time for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

First of all, not enough kind things can be said about the hostess/owner, Katarina, who is a lovely woman who will do all she can to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. When we were there, (actually May of 2010), the volcano was acting up and our flight home to the states was cancelled, she was willing to attempt to call the airline for us, (as it was much cheaper for her to call, and she was even willing to wait on hold for quite some time), as well as finding us another accommodation for the night as she had new guests arriving on our check out date. We also had friends coming from England with their car for a few days while we were there, (staying at a hotel nearby), and our hostess arranged for them to park in the boat's lot for much less than in a garage. Additionally, if you want to rent bikes, boats, or whatever, she will help make arrangements for that too. And to top it off, it was my birthday while we were there, and I was delighted to be presented with a birthday cake and even sung to by our hostess and her boyfriend, very thoughtful.

We had some concerns about noise before going as the boat is located very near to the Central train station, (5 min walk, very convenient if you plan on traveling elsewhere), and on the harbor, but it was surprisingly very quiet as it sits in the water. The only real complaints I had were with the wi-fi, which seemed only to work above deck, not really in the boat itself, and the fact that the boat had a slight list to it, (which may have been rectified as I know it was renovated since we stayed there), which could make you feel a bit off kilter after a while. Also while were there, it was especially cold and rainy for that time of year, but the heat worked very well, and made it a cozy place to hide out from the rain in. Another added value is the kitchenette outfitted with all you really need to prepare small meals, (saving lots of money in not having to eat out all the time if you desire).

This is certainly one of the most unique and conveniently located places you could stay at in Amsterdam. And while it is a great place to stay, it's definitely not for everyone, as it is a real boat and can only be entered by descending a steep set of stairs, (and after crossing over two other boats, which is done quite easily). And it it is a bit on the funky side, which we loved, but would probably not be to everyone's taste. All in all, wholeheartedly recommended, especially for couples.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamLoveBoat, Owner at Amsterdam Love Houseboat, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you Jchilly!
It was a pleasure having you.
The reconstruction works have been done and a new fast WiFi installed, also working bellow decks:-)
I hope that you can visit us again soon.
Warm regards from Amsterdam, Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotorno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is the nicest stay you can have in Amsterdam....original, romantic, comfortable..... Yo are a short walk from the center of the city, from restaurants and all you can wish to visit ( very near to the train and bus station!!!) . The owners and their crew is the best ever, we enjoied every single moment . We absolutly raccomand Lovehouseboat to everybody!!!!! Have a great holiday !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I've stayed in many places in Amsterdam, hotels, rooms and appartments, but this place is unforgettable! Being on the water in the middle of the city, on a beautiful ship, with the freedom no hotel can give and a clean and warm atmosphere - great! Apparently all ships belonging to Love houseboat have a 'feeling' of their own and I'm gonna try them all. Great hosts - unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Love HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Love Houseboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.