We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chocolates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VanderDonk Chocolate

VanderDonk Chocolate
Nieuwe Spiegelstraat 72, 1017 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20-620 27 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,114 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely chocolates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited a lot of chocolate shops in Brugge, Rome and Barcelona but this shop has the best chocolates of them all. Especially the chocolates (pralines) on the counter are delicious and look pretty.
Also there was a very nice lady helping with selecting the chocolates and telling about all the flavours. The shop looks really sophisticated and neat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely chocolates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had dragged my husband and some friends to this street in Amsterdam to view a gallery and popped into the chocolateria. Picked out a few interesting products and completely 'charmed' by Marja. Hoping to be able to order products online. Absolutely loved the Venchi's stuff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Large selection of chocolates and very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff took pains and made some phone calls to help me find some gluten free chocolate bars I could try. All of them were delicious (I'm an extra, extra dark chocolate fan). My friends had their house chocolates which were not gluten free and told me they were quite good but not the best they had ever tasted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Franklin, TN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited VanderDonk chocolates on 4 April. It was quite close to our hotel, and easy to find. It's a warm, cozy shop, and lady there was very accommodating. They have a number of different chocolates and bars sourced from many places, but we were particularly interested in the chocolates by the piece, which are behind the counter. Three box sizes are available, with an approximate number of pieces per box, but charged by weight. Our medium-sized box was ~e22. The were many varieties available, including: Irish Cream, Tia Maria, Raspberry, Cinnamon, Caramel, Crunchy Orange, Dark (66% and 80% pure), Creme Brulee, plus many more. Our sales lady was quite pleasant, and patient with my family as they painstakingly selected their chocolates. This was a fun stop, and definitely a highlight of our visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting chocolates, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stumbled across this shop while wandering around Amsterdam. In addition to a good selection of house-made chocolates (I remember flavors including Earl Grey, hazelnut, dark chocolate, etc.) they have an interesting variety of artisanal chocolate bars, etc.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VanderDonk Chocolate also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to VanderDonk Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VanderDonk Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.