We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chocolates!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VanderDonk Chocolate

VanderDonk Chocolate
Nieuwe Spiegelstraat 72, 1017 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20-620 27 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,343 of 2,338 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely chocolates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had dragged my husband and some friends to this street in Amsterdam to view a gallery and popped into the chocolateria. Picked out a few interesting products and completely 'charmed' by Marja. Hoping to be able to order products online. Absolutely loved the Venchi's stuff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Large selection of chocolates and very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff took pains and made some phone calls to help me find some gluten free chocolate bars I could try. All of them were delicious (I'm an extra, extra dark chocolate fan). My friends had their house chocolates which were not gluten free and told me they were quite good but not the best they had ever tasted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Franklin, TN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited VanderDonk chocolates on 4 April. It was quite close to our hotel, and easy to find. It's a warm, cozy shop, and lady there was very accommodating. They have a number of different chocolates and bars sourced from many places, but we were particularly interested in the chocolates by the piece, which are behind the counter. Three box sizes are available, with an approximate number of pieces per box, but charged by weight. Our medium-sized box was ~e22. The were many varieties available, including: Irish Cream, Tia Maria, Raspberry, Cinnamon, Caramel, Crunchy Orange, Dark (66% and 80% pure), Creme Brulee, plus many more. Our sales lady was quite pleasant, and patient with my family as they painstakingly selected their chocolates. This was a fun stop, and definitely a highlight of our visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting chocolates, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stumbled across this shop while wandering around Amsterdam. In addition to a good selection of house-made chocolates (I remember flavors including Earl Grey, hazelnut, dark chocolate, etc.) they have an interesting variety of artisanal chocolate bars, etc.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stumbled accross this place last christmas in Amsterdam, we are about to go back again and I have been searching for the shop online as I couldn't remeber the name! When we went in the guys behind the counter were really lovely and enthusiastic about all the different flavours and the chocolates here were amzing - really interesting flavours. I have tried a lot of chocolates (!) and these were some of the best. We bought many boxes back as gifts for friends and family and they were all blown away with the flavours. We are visting again this weekend so will pop in to stock up !

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VanderDonk Chocolate also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to VanderDonk Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VanderDonk Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.