We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but the room size is too small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but the room size is too small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel The exchange is located at a very good place, which is closed to many famous attractions.
Due to the good location and the acceptable price, the room size is not large and the layout is very creative.

Room Tip: I choose the two-star room which is acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Kurtlin, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    199
    74
    27
    33
See reviews for
14
269
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Highly interesting, comfortable, clean rooms. We had everything we needed and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They sell tickets for a few tourist attractions from the hotel reception so you can queue jump some things - one being Van Gogh musuem, very helpful. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Olivia, thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dont Know, Im a traveler
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel The Exchange - Amsterdam

+ Walking distance to everything, central station, shopping, food etc, no need to buy passcard/tram-card.
+ Clean room (room 601) (1-star).
+ Free and fast WiFi.
+ Comfortable beds.
+ No carpet/rug.
+ You can charge your electronic device even when you leave the room, its not a roomcard that needs to be put in to get electricity.
+ Friendly staff with good english.
+ You can leave the luggage on the hotel even if you have checked-out.

- Every 15min, the bell from the church nearby is ringing.
For people who needs silence, maybe a room on the other side is more quiet.
- Thin walls but its only 3-4 rooms on that level so not many people walks by.

The hotel is not that hard to find, just get out of Central Station and you will see the big Victoria Hotel sign, walk towards it and just follow the main road with all the tourists.
The entrance is very small, but just look for the white flags.
Next to a kebab/grill restaurant.

The hotel doesnt accept cash, have a credit card with you.
The hall is kinda small, and you need to take the stair/elevator to the first floor and then change to another elevator to get to level 6.
No aircondition, it has heating element.
The shower didnt have any shower-drapery.

Anyway, it was nice and worth it :)

Room Tip: 601 if silence is not a must. No view even its on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited here in 2013 and was amazed. The only thing I have to say is that the hotel's entrance is sooooo narrow that it's difficult to spot (we walked past three times!) basically it is on the street directly in front of Amsterdam Central so it is the perfect location. Everything is within walking distance although we rode the tram to Amsterdam Zoo which was very straightforward. The room was an Arabian themed it was beautiful and the bed was huge and the most comfortable stay I have ever had! Hotel was very clean and I have no negatives at all. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Reeny, thank you for writing a review about your stay in 2013. We really appreciate it that you took the time to write a review about a stay that is a couple of months ago. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and in Hotel The Exchange. The entrance of the hotel used to be an alley between two buildings which belong to the hotel, that's the reason that it is so small. The good news is that we are now having a big number 50 next to the entrance, which makes it easier to find the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal station, the entrance is a little bit hard to find so keep your eye open for it! Check in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful and polite. They don't accept cash so make sure to bring a credit card. I am pretty certain that we booked a 1 star room through Expedia for a very reasonable price so we were expecting a tiny room and tiny bed, so we were very pleasantly surprised to get a queen bed in a fairly big room facing Damrak. We were very grateful for the upgrade.

The ceilings were a bit low (and coming from someone who is barely 5 feet tall, that's saying something). They were however very clean and nicely furnished and decorated. There is safe in the room and the hairdryer is in the safe. There is no shower curtain, so just be careful not to flood the room when you shower.

The hotel is conveniently located close to many tourist spots, and there are tonnes of shops and restaurants near the hotel. The tram runs down Damrak (so it can be quite noisy even late into the evening), but we found everything to be within walking distance anyway.

We loved our visit to Amsterdam and will most certainly return, I hope we get another great deal at Hotel The Exchange when we come back because I would definitely want to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the upgrade we gave you. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

You can't knock this hotel at all, there are five different stars of room from one star to five star.

We stayed in a two star room and I am not sure what more you need if your like us and basically just showered and slept in the room.

There is also wifi everywhere in the hotel and the cafe attached next door.

The rooms are done up very quirky by art students. Yes it is small and basic but has everything you need. A nice big comfy double bed, safe, clothes rail and a wet room. Everything looks very new and well maintained. The cleaners come in your room every day to change towels and make bed etc. The whole hotel is spotless.

The location of the hotel is spot on your five minutes from the train station, red light district, western canals and 10 / 15 minutes from most other things. You can get trams to most places if you wanted. We walked everywhere and found it great as you can find lovely little pubs/cafés and restaurants down the alleys.

The only negative about the hotel room is the light in the bedroom could be brighter as room is dark and there are only two plug sockets.

I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Ross, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and room in our hotel very much. You are always welcome to come back to Amsterdam and stay with us again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. DO NOT spend your money here. I had high expectations for such a quirky, well located boutique hotel with a catchy slogan like "rooms dressed like models".

Here is a short recap of my first night:
IF YOU PLAN ON GETTING SLEEP- DO NOT STAY HERE. The windows facing the street are not double glazed and you can hear EVERYTHING- from the clicking high heels of a woman walking by to the tram that will wake you up at 5am, to the church bells that chime on and on and on regardless of what time it is. If the noise outside does not keep you from sleeping, the noise from the neighbours will because the walls, floors and ceilings are so cheaply constructed and made, you can hear every footstep. If you do manage to get some sleep, you will get woken up by a stray fire alarm that goes off by accident in your room as it did in mine.

Other complaints/disappointments:
-no shower curtain in the bathroom
-no fridge, water, cups, hot water boiler etc. "BASIC" tools in every standard hotel room.

Extremely extremely disappointed by my experience. The hotel put a huge damper on my entire trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Petra, we are disappointed to read that your stay in one of our 2 star rooms wasn't to your satisfaction. Hotel the Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room and the amenities. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a nice and quiet room where you will sleep very well. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.