We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the exchange and was amazed by the location and hotel for the price. Check in was easy, room was super clean and staff were friendly.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from central station, and the red light district. As Amsterdam is quite small most of the attractions are easily reached by walking or the trams.

There is a good shopping area located behind the hotel and with the hotel being located on the damrak it is easily located after a day out exploring. The entrance to the hotel is quite small so can be easily walked past however just look up and you will see the flags we found this helped locate the entrance.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your compliments. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    270
    99
    37
    37
See reviews for
24
370
58
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed one night after a late flight. Location was perfect, just 5 minutes from the train station. Our room was small but the bed comfortable and everything very clean. Didn't particularly like the design of the room but we were only there to sleep and have a shower and both were more than adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Catherine, we are happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in the cheapest room available for 2 nights and we're very happy.
The only thing was that the website said all rooms had different designs, our room was very plain.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was small but very very cozy and inviting.. Lots of natural light.
If we ever go back to Amsterdam, there is no question I will choose to stay here again. Also the location was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Suzannah, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked one of the '2-star' rooms for an impromptu weekend to Amsterdam. The rooms were absolutely tiny and not that cheap (£100 per night) but the location was unbeatable. I stayed at Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam two years ago and while it is around 2.5 times the price, it's about 5 times better. I'd stay here again though if looking for a cheap hotel in the heart of things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hotel The Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room, the amenities, its views and location in the hotel. We understand your dissapointment about the room size. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a more spacious room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here last year and again this year . Fantastic service and an upgrade.
If you don't want the same boring hotel then try the Hotel Exchnage . Its the ideal location and the best Frites shop in the World is next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Tanya, many thanks for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam and to surprise you again with a different room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnerside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked online for a twin bedded room, arrived and we were offered a double bed. As two single straight males we insisted on a twin room, we were offered a room eventually and went to room only to find member of staff lying on bed watching TV.
Not a good experience here, hotel on main road and very noisy,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear David, we understand your disappointment at the bed selection you were offered. The allocation of a double bed was as a result of a last-minute upgrade we gave you on arrival. Once we were alerted to the fact that the bed allocation was not what you requested it was sorted out within a few minutes and you received a further upgrade to a 3 star room with twin beds. Routine maintainance was being done on the TV sets in the vacant rooms at the time of your check-in and while your room was an unexpected room change, the staff did not anticipate your arrival. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have also contacted you directly about your review. We hope to hear back from you. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, so cool and quirky, staff were friendly and helpful, room cleaned everyday and centrally located and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Lauren, thanks so much for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.