We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cheapest room available for 2 nights and we're very happy.
The only thing was that the website said all rooms had different designs, our room was very plain.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was small but very very cozy and inviting.. Lots of natural light.
If we ever go back to Amsterdam, there is no question I will choose to stay here again. Also the location was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Suzannah, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    179
    69
    25
    32
See reviews for
13
245
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked one of the '2-star' rooms for an impromptu weekend to Amsterdam. The rooms were absolutely tiny and not that cheap (£100 per night) but the location was unbeatable. I stayed at Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam two years ago and while it is around 2.5 times the price, it's about 5 times better. I'd stay here again though if looking for a cheap hotel in the heart of things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hotel The Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room, the amenities, its views and location in the hotel. We understand your dissapointment about the room size. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a more spacious room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here last year and again this year . Fantastic service and an upgrade.
If you don't want the same boring hotel then try the Hotel Exchnage . Its the ideal location and the best Frites shop in the World is next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Tanya, many thanks for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam and to surprise you again with a different room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnerside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked online for a twin bedded room, arrived and we were offered a double bed. As two single straight males we insisted on a twin room, we were offered a room eventually and went to room only to find member of staff lying on bed watching TV.
Not a good experience here, hotel on main road and very noisy,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear David, we understand your disappointment at the bed selection you were offered. The allocation of a double bed was as a result of a last-minute upgrade we gave you on arrival. Once we were alerted to the fact that the bed allocation was not what you requested it was sorted out within a few minutes and you received a further upgrade to a 3 star room with twin beds. Routine maintainance was being done on the TV sets in the vacant rooms at the time of your check-in and while your room was an unexpected room change, the staff did not anticipate your arrival. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have also contacted you directly about your review. We hope to hear back from you. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, so cool and quirky, staff were friendly and helpful, room cleaned everyday and centrally located and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Lauren, thanks so much for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel The Exchange is a fantastic (if somewhat hard to find) hotel right on Damrak. It is incredibly close to the train station (and by extension, the very helpful tram lines) and is also close to the red light district and Dam square.

The rooms, designed by local art and design students, are interesting and pleasant, and you can choose from a 1 to a 5 star experience. My wife and I got a 1 star room for the night and were very pleased with the comfortable bed, the cute (if small) room, and the clean bathroom.

All in all, great value and great location. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose your level of elegance (1 to 5 stars), but 1 star rooms offer all that you need for an impecc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you very much for your review. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know that the beds, room and cleanliness of the hotel were much appreciated by you. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I took hours deciding where to stay and this was the first time I had booked a trip for my boyfriend and I so I wanted it to be as good as possible.
When we were looking for the hotel it was even closer to everything than I initially realised! We went to the reception where the staff were absolutely lovely and then they informed us we had a room upgrade! I couldn't believe it! Talk about exceeding expectation, I couldn't believe how lucky we were!
The room was amazing, the bed was possibly the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on and it was just perfect.
Thoughout our stay staff were really helpful and friendly and it was just what we needed.

Thank you Hotel The Exchange!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Millie, we are really happy to read that we exceeded your expectations on your first trip with your boyfriend. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.