We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay what you want for your level of comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pay what you want for your level of comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel The Exchange is a fantastic (if somewhat hard to find) hotel right on Damrak. It is incredibly close to the train station (and by extension, the very helpful tram lines) and is also close to the red light district and Dam square.

The rooms, designed by local art and design students, are interesting and pleasant, and you can choose from a 1 to a 5 star experience. My wife and I got a 1 star room for the night and were very pleased with the comfortable bed, the cute (if small) room, and the clean bathroom.

All in all, great value and great location. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose your level of elegance (1 to 5 stars), but 1 star rooms offer all that you need for an impecc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you very much for your review. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know that the beds, room and cleanliness of the hotel were much appreciated by you. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    191
    70
    27
    32
See reviews for
13
244
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I took hours deciding where to stay and this was the first time I had booked a trip for my boyfriend and I so I wanted it to be as good as possible.
When we were looking for the hotel it was even closer to everything than I initially realised! We went to the reception where the staff were absolutely lovely and then they informed us we had a room upgrade! I couldn't believe it! Talk about exceeding expectation, I couldn't believe how lucky we were!
The room was amazing, the bed was possibly the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on and it was just perfect.
Thoughout our stay staff were really helpful and friendly and it was just what we needed.

Thank you Hotel The Exchange!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Millie, we are really happy to read that we exceeded your expectations on your first trip with your boyfriend. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Iasi, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Close to Amsterdam central, 4-5 min to Dam Square. The hotel and the rooms are very awesome and creatively decorated, really clean and a very confortable and large kingsize bed. The staff is very friendly, giving you directions if you need and a map of all the cultural sites to visit.
Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Codrin, thank you for the compliments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really helpful, very interesting decoration of the rooms, very enjoyable stay.The staff were very polite and helpful.Was a very pleasant first stay in amsterdam. Will definitely book again in the future!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked a superior room for 2 nights. Room is quite quirky but very small for the price we paid. Room was clean but floor could be better maintained and room painted. Our TV kept breaking up but it was sorted out by the attentive staff. Not much of a view from the window but we didn't mind. Excellent location and extremely quirky!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel has everything you need. Only 5 minutes' walk from Central Station. National Monument in Dam Square is 5 minutes' walk in the opposite direction. Stylish interior. Very helpful staff. Very large double bed, soft and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location is in the middle of the busy city centre on 3 minutes walking distance from central station, 1 minute from tram station and 5 minutes from Dam square and shopping streets. Usually you find very overpriced, supertiny, dusty, touristy hotels here. I was suprised to find a more creative looking space here. Our mid price room room was very light and minimalistic (I was a bit disappointed after seeing other photo examples of different rooms) but also creatively decorated. Very tiny corridors on your way to the room (but with tiny elevator as well). Room is basic (could use a water cooker), but the bed and shower were clean and comfortable! Our room was at the side of the street but I had no noise on a Friday evening. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.