We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale
Ranked #115 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Iasi, Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Close to Amsterdam central, 4-5 min to Dam Square. The hotel and the rooms are very awesome and creatively decorated, really clean and a very confortable and large kingsize bed. The staff is very friendly, giving you directions if you need and a map of all the cultural sites to visit.
Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Codrin, thank you for the compliments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    301
    110
    46
    43
See reviews for
31
405
64
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really helpful, very interesting decoration of the rooms, very enjoyable stay.The staff were very polite and helpful.Was a very pleasant first stay in amsterdam. Will definitely book again in the future!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked a superior room for 2 nights. Room is quite quirky but very small for the price we paid. Room was clean but floor could be better maintained and room painted. Our TV kept breaking up but it was sorted out by the attentive staff. Not much of a view from the window but we didn't mind. Excellent location and extremely quirky!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel has everything you need. Only 5 minutes' walk from Central Station. National Monument in Dam Square is 5 minutes' walk in the opposite direction. Stylish interior. Very helpful staff. Very large double bed, soft and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location is in the middle of the busy city centre on 3 minutes walking distance from central station, 1 minute from tram station and 5 minutes from Dam square and shopping streets. Usually you find very overpriced, supertiny, dusty, touristy hotels here. I was suprised to find a more creative looking space here. Our mid price room room was very light and minimalistic (I was a bit disappointed after seeing other photo examples of different rooms) but also creatively decorated. Very tiny corridors on your way to the room (but with tiny elevator as well). Room is basic (could use a water cooker), but the bed and shower were clean and comfortable! Our room was at the side of the street but I had no noise on a Friday evening. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

As written in the title, this hotel is all you need to spend a really good holiday in Amsterdam.
This hotel is clean, you can sleep very well, the rooms are large enough to contains all your stuff to spend some days in this marvelous city and the staff is young and gentle. Remarkable also the availability to keep your baggage until check-in (we arrived at 9 am, check-in is at 3 pm) and after check-out (check-out is at 12 am, we picked up our baggage at 4 pm).
And the position is the cherry on the cake! 5 min from rail station and simply in the middle of the city center!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked the Hotel Exhange as a surprise for my friends 30th birthday in January. I was attracted to it by the reviews of its quirky decoration and because we were two females travelling alone, its central location. The hotel delivered in both respects. It is a mere five minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central station on the Damrak from which we were able to access all the parts of Amsterdam we wanted to explore.The red light district and the main square are both only about 3 minutes away.

I initially booked a 1* room but decided last minute to treat ourselves to an upgrade. We were offered upgrades to 4 and 5 star rooms so I opted for the 4star for a reasonable extra fee.

The room we got was very large, with quirky curtained walls and a small (almost) balcony overlooking Damrak. We had no trouble at all with traffic noise. The bathroom wasn't huge but was much bigger than other hotels ive stayed in and was well laid out and more than sufficient for our stay. Although there were no hairdryers in the hotel this was resolved with a phone call to reception and one was delivered within minutes. When that one wasn't blowing hot air another was delivered extremely promptly followed shortly after by an iron! We also couldn't find the towels when we arrived (they were there but on an obscure rack in the bathroom) and these were also delivered very promptly - I can honestly say we were quite demanding customers and received rapid helpful service at every opportunity!

The only thing I could perceive that could be a problem with this hotel is that it is in a traditional dutch building with very steep stairs. This may not be suitable for those with mobility issues, although there is a lift. I would mention any mobility issues upon booking as some rooms still require you to negotiate small staircases to get to once you reach the correct floor.

If I go back to Amsterdam I will without a doubt stay here and would confidently book a lower starred room than the excellent 4* room we had!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#188 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#142 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.