We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect city break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect city break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

just back from our 4nights at this hotel and we want to go back! beautiful room, number 517 had everything we needed, very cute and romantic, so much so that my partner proposed!it was a little noisy as workmen worked late into the night but that didnt bother us, we were normally up and wondering around very late at night as everything is open until 1am! hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room was ready hours before check in time :) only complaint would be no smoking area within the hotel. loved exploring the city, very beautiful place, beautiful hotel, cant wait to come back! thank you to all staff at hotel the exchange, this is a holiday i'll never forget :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    261
    97
    35
    36
See reviews for
22
353
57
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located on the main street of Amsterdam and just 5 minutes walk to the attractions such as Dam Square, Old Church, China Town and Red lighten area. There are several convenience stores and restaurants near by the hotel.

Although the main entrance of the hotel is very small, you will find well designed when you walk inside. Studio rooms are beautiful, comfortable bed, clean and nice washroom. This hotel is more than a place for sleeping. I really like one thing is that they provided City Map. Overall, the price are very attractive when compare to its location and well designed rooms. I will choose the Hotel The Exchange again during my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good location - Located in City Center. Rooms are small, but ok if you're going just sleep there. No any extar services, just sleep. Free WiFi.

Good location - Located in City Center. Rooms are small, but ok if you're going just sleep there. No any extar services, just sleep. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We Loved our rope style room! we received Great service, a very unique hotel, Awesome 4 nights of sleep, the staff were very friendly and helpful! What a Super location right in the city and great food from their restaurant

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

2★ Room was a bit pricey. Very clean but so small i felt claustrophobic. Morning sickness didn't help matters but unfortunately no offer of free upgrade when my husband explained my situation. Had to leave a night sooner than planned however I would stay again in a bigger room. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere and spotlessly clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was my first trip to Amsterdam so initially, i really didn't know where to stay. Had stay at Hotel The Exchange for 2 nights and i found the hotel to be really amazing! The location is just perfect, it is located around 300 metres from Amsterdam Central and Dam Square. Amsterdam Central is where your train will be arriving/ departing where Dam Square is where you can find Madame Tussaud, H&M, souvenirs shop, etc. The room is a bit small, but it is highly practical and decorated fashionably. There are many souvenirs shop around the hotel, Red Light District is only 5 mins walk from the hotel. Halal food is also 2 door away from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel, thank you Hotel The Exchange for making my first trip to Amsterdam a wonderful one, love from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is a short walk from the Central train station. The rooms are small but clean, pleasant and unique. Wifi is included in the price and overall atmosphere is cozy. I would stay again and recommend to visitors looking for something practical and affordable but with some style.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.