We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Valenca, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best bed ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Besides a great location, the staff is very nice and helpful and the beds and pillows are just perfect! The rooms are nicely decorated. This time we got a very cute black and white room. We stayed there twice and when we travel to Amsterdam again The Exchange will surely be our choice again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    197
    73
    26
    33
See reviews for
14
267
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Once a year some Amsterdam hotels invite the citizens to spend the night with them. So you can stay in a hotel in Amstedam for a sweet price and special events and activities occur. I think its even harder to pick a hotel, because you're looking for an unique experience. After all, you've got a room and a bed at home. We definitely found an unique experience at the Exchange hotel because they have decorated rooms as models. We stayed at a room which was completely white and framed. For a soft touch they used textile patches as wall paper. The room was clean, but it's hard to keep an entirely white room white. The bed was nice and soft. A simple shower curtaim would be nice and more friendly for the house keeping.

We also had the opportunity to have a look in their 'masterpieces', to talk to a designer and to chill out at the next door cafe Stock.

I loved the creative and original atmosphere which I experienced during the whole stay and at all the spots.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Loved the design of the room. Thought it was a unique boutique style hotel at an affordable price. Couldn't have asked for a better location as everywhere is easily within walking distance and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Thanx again for a lovely stay. Your bathroom was a 'wet room' with the shower water running all over the place which I found somewhat inconvenient. Perhaps a small border around the shower area would keep the rest of the area dry and more comfortable. Further I missed a small chair to sit on to watch television, especially with so many channels to watch. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay, thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Cool designed hotel, more for young people, no children. My room was nice but a bit small, no day light since window was facing a wall. Very clairaudient, I could hear people in the other rooms a lot. Room was very clean. I did not have breakfast so can't say anything about food or service. I only stayed one night. Hotel very central, around the corner from the red light district. Over all I liked the hotel. However In my opinion it should be a bit cheaper. Comparing it with other hotels in the same price category, the comfort wasn't as good as the others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked room for 3 nights. We were upgraded from a 1-star to 2-star room for free.

Pros:
- Unique concept, nice affordable boutique hotel
- Helpful, unobtrusive, laidback staff. They're there when you need them, and v. polite, accommodating and helpful when you do.
- As a small hotel, it felt a lot home-y and personal.
- Great central location! On a busy tourist stretch and in walking distance to supermarkets, the shopping districts, the canals, the red light district and the train station.
- Very good wifi connection throughout the hotel
- Very clean rooms, comfy bed.
- Has a lift
- Provide luggage storage
- Kettles and hairdryers to borrow
- Laidback, serene atmosphere

Cons:
- Rooms are quite small.
- The entrance is tiny, you have to look out for it!
- Rooms are quite bare - Our room had a bath, one stool and desk, no closet, three clothes hangers and only one rubbish bin in the bathroom.
- Some rooms are strangely designed. We were first put in a room with orange curtains covering all four walls. Made it difficult to find windows, light switches and powerpoints. It was also very dimly lit. We called reception to see if we could change rooms and we were promptly swapped into a much more conventional room, lighter and more simplistic design.

Had a great stay, would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived in Amsterdam in Centraal Station and after a few steps we found the little door that leads you through the reception. We asked for a free upgrade and went from a 2 star room for a 3 star room on the 5th floor, room #518, kinda tidy but it has a cute balcony! too bad it was winter and we didn't even had the time to take breakfast or stay there, but it should be awesome during summer/spring days. As the tittle says, i lovelovelove the bed, with clean white sheets and soft pillows. Amazing! It almost kills your willing to take a walk but Amsterdam is such a lovely city, you shouldn't pay much time resting! There's no hair dryer in the bathroom but you can ask in the reception and they'll give you a much better version of those default dryers that come in the hotel rooms. The hotel is very cool, there's some different sitting rooms and places to chill, everything is tidy but as expected in Amsterdam, as well as the prices for a hotel room there. Our room has no bath, it has a walk in shower and that's fine, but one thing I didn't like about it: there's no glass screen panel, so you gonna have your bathroom all wet and that's not nice. The Exchange isn't very cheap but i do think it's worth it because of its location. They have a friendly staff and the hotel is very clean, despite of our room is in need of some paint in the white wall. I did like it, but I probably would search for another place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.