We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very cute and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Exchange at the end of September and I have to say I wasn't expecting much as we went for cheapness when we bought the deal off of Expedia. The only problematic thing was that we arrived in Amsterdam incredibly early and could access our room until 3, even though we did wait around until 3 and the room was still not ready until about 4 which did damper the mood slightly and that the hotel receptionist got our booking missed up with someone else's but it eventually got all sorted. We were issued with a 1 star room and we were nervous about seeing it because when someone says 1 star to you you kind of panic slightly but the room was very bright and quirkily decorated with handbags all over the place, the bathroom was in 2 parts with the toilet being at the back of the room and the sink and shower being just at the front of the room but this didn't bother us too much. Our room faced onto the Main street of Damrak and was a little noises but it wasn't so bad that we would loose sleep over it.

All in all a lovely little hotel, was always cleaned each day, modern, bright, lively and very quirky. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    232
    85
    33
    33
See reviews for
19
312
49
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Exchange Hotel offers clean - and for Amsterdam’s standards - affordable rooms in the city centre of Amsterdam, just a five minute walk from the central railway station. The rooms are decorated by designers, which give them a unique touch. We had a the smallest and cheapest room, located in the front. Because this is the street side and the building is old, it can be quite noisy. Earplugs are recommended for people who don't sleep so tight. The price doesn't include breakfast, but the hotel has its own cafe next door, which is okay but Amsterdam offers better places to enjoy your breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: We had a the smallest and cheapest room, located in the front. Because this is the street side and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights 5th to 7th December. The hotel was really quaint the room tiny but really clean. The hotel is in the perfect location we were able to walk everywhere from where it was located. Tip do not get a taxi from the airport - we got one as we were worried about finding the hotel, 60 euros later and we still weren't dropped outside. Central station is a 5 minute walk and only a 4 euro fare too and from the Airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location is perfect and close to everything!! the hotel is spotless and staff is great. The rooms and floors have different themes, which was reason I choose this hotel.
the hotel is only a few minutes walk from central station. You need to look for close for the entrance to the hotel - very small sign.

Room Tip: at first I choose a two -star based on price. room was extremely small and I requested to upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly, helpful hotel.Through the different kinds of artristic bedrooms it attracks me to the visit this hotel. The matching breakfast area has a tasty menu, you can eat there very good. Location is perfect central in Amsterdam. I enjoyed my staying!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have good view on the famous road to the heart of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from November 12-14. The rooms are very funky (a bit small but it is Europe). Its is SO convenient. Less than a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station. They have an elevator and luggage storage if needed. The front desk staff are very helpful. It is a very easy walk (less than 30 minutes to practically everything) and if you don't want to walk the trams are right out front. The main "Tours" office is just a few doors down. The bed are SO comfy and much appreciated after a long flight. Stock is very convenient for coffee and pastries in the morning and there is a vending machine however both are a little pricey. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my clients and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

A small hotel, dedicated to 'green environment', and fair trading, in a recycled 200 year old warehouse, modern appointments. Small rooms (who stays in rom but to sleep), right in the heart of Amsterdam, 2 minutes from Central station, trams pass the door, small coffee shop on ground floor for breakfast or snacks but restaurants everywhere you look, lots of shopping opportunities surround the hotel, hop on/off buses just outside Central Station.
Great hotel, great location

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.