We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights 5th to 7th December. The hotel was really quaint the room tiny but really clean. The hotel is in the perfect location we were able to walk everywhere from where it was located. Tip do not get a taxi from the airport - we got one as we were worried about finding the hotel, 60 euros later and we still weren't dropped outside. Central station is a 5 minute walk and only a 4 euro fare too and from the Airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    261
    97
    35
    36
See reviews for
22
353
57
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location is perfect and close to everything!! the hotel is spotless and staff is great. The rooms and floors have different themes, which was reason I choose this hotel.
the hotel is only a few minutes walk from central station. You need to look for close for the entrance to the hotel - very small sign.

Room Tip: at first I choose a two -star based on price. room was extremely small and I requested to upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly, helpful hotel.Through the different kinds of artristic bedrooms it attracks me to the visit this hotel. The matching breakfast area has a tasty menu, you can eat there very good. Location is perfect central in Amsterdam. I enjoyed my staying!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have good view on the famous road to the heart of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from November 12-14. The rooms are very funky (a bit small but it is Europe). Its is SO convenient. Less than a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station. They have an elevator and luggage storage if needed. The front desk staff are very helpful. It is a very easy walk (less than 30 minutes to practically everything) and if you don't want to walk the trams are right out front. The main "Tours" office is just a few doors down. The bed are SO comfy and much appreciated after a long flight. Stock is very convenient for coffee and pastries in the morning and there is a vending machine however both are a little pricey. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my clients and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A small hotel, dedicated to 'green environment', and fair trading, in a recycled 200 year old warehouse, modern appointments. Small rooms (who stays in rom but to sleep), right in the heart of Amsterdam, 2 minutes from Central station, trams pass the door, small coffee shop on ground floor for breakfast or snacks but restaurants everywhere you look, lots of shopping opportunities surround the hotel, hop on/off buses just outside Central Station.
Great hotel, great location

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I choose this hotel for its location and for its price. I was positively surprised by the room. It was very nice and "trendy" despite being the cheapest option. the staf was helpful and friendly. the only negative point is the entrance to the hotel from the main street. It is difficult to spot (very small sign) and the corridor that leads to the recpetion is not very pleasant. But when you get to the above floors and to your room then you are pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us at the tourist desk at the railway station as a 4 star hotel. We had a white room which was very small and dirty. The photos on this site are quite nice so maybe we were unlucky with our room. However it was expensive and not very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.