We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, interesting hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Ranked #95 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, interesting hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I choose this hotel for its location and for its price. I was positively surprised by the room. It was very nice and "trendy" despite being the cheapest option. the staf was helpful and friendly. the only negative point is the entrance to the hotel from the main street. It is difficult to spot (very small sign) and the corridor that leads to the recpetion is not very pleasant. But when you get to the above floors and to your room then you are pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    276
    100
    39
    37
See reviews for
26
374
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us at the tourist desk at the railway station as a 4 star hotel. We had a white room which was very small and dirty. The photos on this site are quite nice so maybe we were unlucky with our room. However it was expensive and not very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an excellently located hotel, very close to the station and within walking distance of most of the city. Having individually designed rooms is a clever way to disguise the fact that this hotel is actually fairly basic, almost no frills. But it doesn't matter, the hotel is cool, clean, the staff are friendly and our room was cosy and quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We halved stayed at several places on Damrak and been disappointed by the rooms at most places. That is NOT the case with the exchange!! The rooms are lovely and very clean!! Our room was also quiet and very private. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I loved staying at the Exchange and would gladly stay here again. We had the Rembrandt Room, which is done up all in white. The bed itself is surrounded by a cocoon of curtains, which is both visually striking and cozy. It was a charming, clean and spacious room that was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is also in a great location - only blocks from Centraal Station - and surrounded by shops and cafes so there's plenty to do right around the hotel area. The cafe downstairs was very convenient - great for a quick breakfast before heading out to see the city. They have excellent croissants!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, our first visit to Amsterdam, Netherlands. We were looking for a clean room, friendly helpful staff, close to Central Train Station, and that is what we got. We opted for the mid price room, one step above the smallest room, and we are glad we did. Being from Canada, we were warned that hotel rooms in Europe are very small compared to Canada. Still this was probably the smallest hotel room we ever stayed in! We had enough room to get around the bed, with nothing to spare. And no view. But it filled our needs, very clean, friendly staff, excellent location in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower price rooms are very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I took my fiancée to Amsterdam for his 30th Birthday and we stayed at The Exchange. We arrived before check in time, but the room was ready anyway so we were able to check in straight away and get exploring....great start to the trip.
Like other reviews have mentioned, the Hotel is easy to miss if you're not looking carefully but this is true for all the other hotels along this busy main street. This did not bother us at all.

My favourite thing about this Hotel is how it is different from any other hotel I've stayed in. It's all about art and design and you feel compelled to walk around the maze of corridors and up the narrow stairs just to see if there are any hidden surprises such as the different communal areas on each floor. Even the little, cosy lift was a burst of colour when it's doors opened to us.

The room itself was very modern and light with wet room style bathroom. Most importantly though for a city centre and main street location... it was quiet, resulting in a great nights sleep after a long day and night of activities. The Queen size bed was very comfortable too.

I picked this Hotel because of it's central location and price compared to other establishments, and I felt I made the right choice. Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.