We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday Break in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Break in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I took my fiancée to Amsterdam for his 30th Birthday and we stayed at The Exchange. We arrived before check in time, but the room was ready anyway so we were able to check in straight away and get exploring....great start to the trip.
Like other reviews have mentioned, the Hotel is easy to miss if you're not looking carefully but this is true for all the other hotels along this busy main street. This did not bother us at all.

My favourite thing about this Hotel is how it is different from any other hotel I've stayed in. It's all about art and design and you feel compelled to walk around the maze of corridors and up the narrow stairs just to see if there are any hidden surprises such as the different communal areas on each floor. Even the little, cosy lift was a burst of colour when it's doors opened to us.

The room itself was very modern and light with wet room style bathroom. Most importantly though for a city centre and main street location... it was quiet, resulting in a great nights sleep after a long day and night of activities. The Queen size bed was very comfortable too.

I picked this Hotel because of it's central location and price compared to other establishments, and I felt I made the right choice. Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    209
    77
    31
    33
See reviews for
15
284
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel The Exchange is right in the middle of Dam Rak and is a very cool property. We had the Rembrandt room and it was very cool. All white with a cocoon like bed.

The staff could not have been more accommodating, even arranging for champagne and flowers in our room to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Nothing but good things to say about this artsy, cool, and well located hotel. The market/cafe that is attached is also very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this for a guys weekend with a buddy visiting from the USA. He did not want a big chain hotel. I found the prices very good online and loved the location. Since i felt the prices were not too high slightly over $150 usd (for Amsterdam its cheap) I booked the 5 Star room. Upon arrival you come in a small day and some narrow hallways but the room was big, spacious with a super comfy bed. The place had all the basics you could ever want but in its simplest form. Nothing if fancy but the room has a Nespresso machine, great bed, plenty of room (with some view too) .....all in all a great surprise. Hotel has a youngish crowd. Probably not for families or people that need fancy or amenities. Also free wifi that worked quite strong, not weak and was fully open all around hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded 5 star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here one night for a business trip and would return anytime. Very quirky, all rooms are different and the entire hotel has a cosy, homely feeling. And I agree with other reviewers.... the bed was quite comfortable! The restaurant is a bit odd and the selection quite basic - but it doesn't really belong to the hotel and there are so many other places to choose in Amsterdam that it really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We flew into Amsterdam and stayed for two night here. Hotel's location was perfect. It is on Dam street.

As a result, the hotel staff was very friendly, the hotel's location was perfect and the rooms are clean.

Thanks..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was lovely. The room was clean and relatively spacious for the price/location. The bed was very comfortable. We had a front-facing room on the first floor (just above street level) it was very loud but we managed to sleep through it nonetheless. Earplugs might be useful just in case. The hotel is incredibly well situated: a quick walk from the train station and right in the center of town.

The best part of this hotel was the front desk staff. ALL OF THEM WERE FANTASTICALLY HELPFUL. We hoped they would help us make a reservation for dinner one night but they did much more. They took down the numbers of the places we wanted to dine at when we found the numbers were busy and they continued to call after we left for a day of sight-seeing. When we returned, the staff had changed over but messages were passed along so Steven (who had just started his shift) knew our dilemma. Although they weren't able to get us a table at the restos we wanted, Steven took up the challenge to find us an alternative. After an hour, Steven called us in our room and managed to get us reservations at another restaurant that ended up being very romantic and very perfect.

On top of this restaurant reservation challenge, they gave great directions and helpful hints for bike rentals and other touristy things. This professional and caring staff made all the difference to our stay, making it a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the 1st floor are very loud. Beware if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just for one night and loved it. The hotel boasts many quirky little details. The most remarkable was how comfortable the bed was, I had such a good night's sleep. Although it's on a very busy and quite noisy street, but that doesn't bother me too much. And also it's very convenient in walking distance to the train station. I would book there again. Breakfast in the café next door was okay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.