We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this for a guys weekend with a buddy visiting from the USA. He did not want a big chain hotel. I found the prices very good online and loved the location. Since i felt the prices were not too high slightly over $150 usd (for Amsterdam its cheap) I booked the 5 Star room. Upon arrival you come in a small day and some narrow hallways but the room was big, spacious with a super comfy bed. The place had all the basics you could ever want but in its simplest form. Nothing if fancy but the room has a Nespresso machine, great bed, plenty of room (with some view too) .....all in all a great surprise. Hotel has a youngish crowd. Probably not for families or people that need fancy or amenities. Also free wifi that worked quite strong, not weak and was fully open all around hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded 5 star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanAbroadAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here one night for a business trip and would return anytime. Very quirky, all rooms are different and the entire hotel has a cosy, homely feeling. And I agree with other reviewers.... the bed was quite comfortable! The restaurant is a bit odd and the selection quite basic - but it doesn't really belong to the hotel and there are so many other places to choose in Amsterdam that it really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We flew into Amsterdam and stayed for two night here. Hotel's location was perfect. It is on Dam street.

As a result, the hotel staff was very friendly, the hotel's location was perfect and the rooms are clean.

Thanks..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was lovely. The room was clean and relatively spacious for the price/location. The bed was very comfortable. We had a front-facing room on the first floor (just above street level) it was very loud but we managed to sleep through it nonetheless. Earplugs might be useful just in case. The hotel is incredibly well situated: a quick walk from the train station and right in the center of town.

The best part of this hotel was the front desk staff. ALL OF THEM WERE FANTASTICALLY HELPFUL. We hoped they would help us make a reservation for dinner one night but they did much more. They took down the numbers of the places we wanted to dine at when we found the numbers were busy and they continued to call after we left for a day of sight-seeing. When we returned, the staff had changed over but messages were passed along so Steven (who had just started his shift) knew our dilemma. Although they weren't able to get us a table at the restos we wanted, Steven took up the challenge to find us an alternative. After an hour, Steven called us in our room and managed to get us reservations at another restaurant that ended up being very romantic and very perfect.

On top of this restaurant reservation challenge, they gave great directions and helpful hints for bike rentals and other touristy things. This professional and caring staff made all the difference to our stay, making it a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the 1st floor are very loud. Beware if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here just for one night and loved it. The hotel boasts many quirky little details. The most remarkable was how comfortable the bed was, I had such a good night's sleep. Although it's on a very busy and quite noisy street, but that doesn't bother me too much. And also it's very convenient in walking distance to the train station. I would book there again. Breakfast in the café next door was okay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank piiika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I disagree slightly on our experience of the exchange, so I will write my review based on both our opinions!
We visited Amsterdam in October as the bf ran the marathon, we had difficulty in finding anywhere that was reasonably priced (even hostels which we have stayed in for other city breaks). So we found The Exchange.
The things both a the nd an I agree on:

Location- second to none. 5 minute walk to the central station (easiest way to get from the airport to Amsterdam!) Close to all the tram shops, restaurants and bars. It is difficult to find, but if you keep your eyes peeled and loom for a door between a cafe (Stock cafe) and a pizza shop, you will find it!
Staff- were friendly and very helpful pointing out how to get around the city
Style- quirky and stylish the rooms are fun an the hotel does look great, the staircase is very narrow though!
Room- we stayed in room 119. There were twin beds which were very comfy and the there was a separate shower room and toilet. All very clean and practical. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard. There isn't too much room in the room, we had to live out of the suitcase and if you had more than one they would be difficult to store!

Things we disagreed on:
Room- the curtains were Terrible! There were a lot of gaps, sides and top. For me this was a real problem as I do not sleep well if there is light and with being on the main road, the street lights were very bright through the gaps! The space is definitely a problem if you have more luggage than we did!

Sleep quality- we were at the front of the house so it was very noisy, especially as our room was just above a pizzashop (which I think didn't close till the VERY early hours). This is of course no fault of the hotels, this is what Amsterdam is all about, but just a warning. The room is warm so if you need to open the window in summer months I suspect you will get very little sleep.

All in all, I think that this hotel is great value for money!!!!!!! Stylish and the perfect location to explore Amsterdam's sights, you will be hard pressed to find something in a more ideal location for the price!

Room Tip: Try and get a doom away from the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EpsomGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We got there early in the AM and found the hotel with no problem. The entrance is kind of hidden between two cafe's, but if you just look for the numbers on the buildings, you will get right to it. They put our luggage up for the morning and we met up with friends and checked in later in the day. We had a triple room, which was all in white and was very comfy. Beds were great, shower was wonderful and there was plenty of room in our room for 3 people. We were a group of 14, so I got to see some of the other rooms, and although they were small, they were very comparitable with other european "center of town" room sizes. Everyone liked the decor of their rooms, and I like it was not a generic run of the mill hotel room. Although we spent little time in our room, it was nice coming back to a uniquely decorated room. The hotel staff was wonderful, and the cafe downstairs was great. Location could not be better- 5 minutes to the central train station, 2 minutes to the red light district, and 5 minutes to the square. It was a really great location and the prices were relatively cheap compared to other hotels. There was some noise, but that is to be expected, so just bring earplugs and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Get the 5 star room- that was the bomb!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,620 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#58 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#151 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing