We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central and very cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, Amsterdam 1012 LL, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very central and very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here one night for a business trip and would return anytime. Very quirky, all rooms are different and the entire hotel has a cosy, homely feeling. And I agree with other reviewers.... the bed was quite comfortable! The restaurant is a bit odd and the selection quite basic - but it doesn't really belong to the hotel and there are so many other places to choose in Amsterdam that it really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    188
    69
    25
    32
See reviews for
12
242
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We flew into Amsterdam and stayed for two night here. Hotel's location was perfect. It is on Dam street.

As a result, the hotel staff was very friendly, the hotel's location was perfect and the rooms are clean.

Thanks..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was lovely. The room was clean and relatively spacious for the price/location. The bed was very comfortable. We had a front-facing room on the first floor (just above street level) it was very loud but we managed to sleep through it nonetheless. Earplugs might be useful just in case. The hotel is incredibly well situated: a quick walk from the train station and right in the center of town.

The best part of this hotel was the front desk staff. ALL OF THEM WERE FANTASTICALLY HELPFUL. We hoped they would help us make a reservation for dinner one night but they did much more. They took down the numbers of the places we wanted to dine at when we found the numbers were busy and they continued to call after we left for a day of sight-seeing. When we returned, the staff had changed over but messages were passed along so Steven (who had just started his shift) knew our dilemma. Although they weren't able to get us a table at the restos we wanted, Steven took up the challenge to find us an alternative. After an hour, Steven called us in our room and managed to get us reservations at another restaurant that ended up being very romantic and very perfect.

On top of this restaurant reservation challenge, they gave great directions and helpful hints for bike rentals and other touristy things. This professional and caring staff made all the difference to our stay, making it a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the 1st floor are very loud. Beware if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just for one night and loved it. The hotel boasts many quirky little details. The most remarkable was how comfortable the bed was, I had such a good night's sleep. Although it's on a very busy and quite noisy street, but that doesn't bother me too much. And also it's very convenient in walking distance to the train station. I would book there again. Breakfast in the café next door was okay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I disagree slightly on our experience of the exchange, so I will write my review based on both our opinions!
We visited Amsterdam in October as the bf ran the marathon, we had difficulty in finding anywhere that was reasonably priced (even hostels which we have stayed in for other city breaks). So we found The Exchange.
The things both a the nd an I agree on:

Location- second to none. 5 minute walk to the central station (easiest way to get from the airport to Amsterdam!) Close to all the tram shops, restaurants and bars. It is difficult to find, but if you keep your eyes peeled and loom for a door between a cafe (Stock cafe) and a pizza shop, you will find it!
Staff- were friendly and very helpful pointing out how to get around the city
Style- quirky and stylish the rooms are fun an the hotel does look great, the staircase is very narrow though!
Room- we stayed in room 119. There were twin beds which were very comfy and the there was a separate shower room and toilet. All very clean and practical. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard. There isn't too much room in the room, we had to live out of the suitcase and if you had more than one they would be difficult to store!

Things we disagreed on:
Room- the curtains were Terrible! There were a lot of gaps, sides and top. For me this was a real problem as I do not sleep well if there is light and with being on the main road, the street lights were very bright through the gaps! The space is definitely a problem if you have more luggage than we did!

Sleep quality- we were at the front of the house so it was very noisy, especially as our room was just above a pizzashop (which I think didn't close till the VERY early hours). This is of course no fault of the hotels, this is what Amsterdam is all about, but just a warning. The room is warm so if you need to open the window in summer months I suspect you will get very little sleep.

All in all, I think that this hotel is great value for money!!!!!!! Stylish and the perfect location to explore Amsterdam's sights, you will be hard pressed to find something in a more ideal location for the price!

Room Tip: Try and get a doom away from the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We got there early in the AM and found the hotel with no problem. The entrance is kind of hidden between two cafe's, but if you just look for the numbers on the buildings, you will get right to it. They put our luggage up for the morning and we met up with friends and checked in later in the day. We had a triple room, which was all in white and was very comfy. Beds were great, shower was wonderful and there was plenty of room in our room for 3 people. We were a group of 14, so I got to see some of the other rooms, and although they were small, they were very comparitable with other european "center of town" room sizes. Everyone liked the decor of their rooms, and I like it was not a generic run of the mill hotel room. Although we spent little time in our room, it was nice coming back to a uniquely decorated room. The hotel staff was wonderful, and the cafe downstairs was great. Location could not be better- 5 minutes to the central train station, 2 minutes to the red light district, and 5 minutes to the square. It was a really great location and the prices were relatively cheap compared to other hotels. There was some noise, but that is to be expected, so just bring earplugs and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Get the 5 star room- that was the bomb!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Really helpful staff. Got a back room. Funky little hotel. Small lift. The room was small but comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Great bathroom, in room safe and convenient location. Make sure you look carefully for the entrance. It is easy to miss! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they stored our gear which was good. Perfect location for nightlife, tours etc. The lift was out of order one day so they gave us complimentary coffee for the downstairs cafe. The only downside of this place was the cafe. The staff were rude, service poor and the quality of food not that great. Better off going elsewhere for food and coffee. We loved the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, Amsterdam 1012 LL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.